Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for Nuclear VSTi AU LITE

Rate & Review Nuclear VSTi AU LITE Now!

Reviewed By dryan [read all by] on 20th March 2017
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
3.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A big disappointment. I was enticed by a video in which the developer was showcasing some nice guitar sounds, but they don't include their best sounds in the free version i presume. Very cumbersome to download, practically no usable sounds (for me, i guess this is personal taste though) and a very ugly / uninspiring GUI.

Click here to read all 2 reviews

Discussion: Active

Discussion

12 February 2017 at 9:43pmwhiteaxxxe

Was anybody able to download this thing? And is it worth it?

13 February 2017 at 9:21pmsextonr3

Get it. It's awesome.

18 February 2017 at 5:39pmThohi

It's really not. Mediocre samples in a needlessly ugly GUI, takes 700 years to download, and takes ages to switch between patches.

13 February 2017 at 9:21pmsextonr3

This took forever to download, but it was worth it. Fantastic sounds. Seriously, the best free multi-instrument module out there, no question. The reverb is magical. I am so excited about this. There is however one problem: I'm not sure how long I can hold off from buying the full version. The sounds are just so good.

13 February 2017 at 11:31pmbob bobwood

it is a 13.3GB download, around 2 hours and 5 minutes estimated here. I'll be back in 24hours (or maybe 48), let you know how I got on.

14 February 2017 at 10:58amidfpower

The download (and I might add the installer as well) was a horrible experience. It took 4 days, since the download kept failing, then the source changed, etc. Took also 4 installs and 3 repairs to finally make it work (also crushed FL Studio once). They should really do something about it, 'cause it makes them look like amateurs.

And the GUI - strange concept. Leavind its cryptic nature aside, I just don't think it fits the onboard sounds, there's nothing that suggests that kind of post-apocalyptic / industrial design look. I know there are a couple of Kontakt libraries that look just like this one, but the sounds do fit the graphics, with lots of metallic percussive elements and distorted sounds. Anyway...

All that aside, what do you actually get is a very limited library of (40) presets - BUT THEY DO SOUND GOOOD. Especially the strings and guitars. The only thing I don't like is the drum kits - the kicks and snares are good, some cymbals are ok, but every set has the top pads filled with junk sounds. Why would anyone design a UI with 24 pads if one can't find enough good sounds to build a complete solid kit is beyond me...

The onboard reverb is indeed very good & usable (which is a rare thing). I really like it. CPU hit is manageable as well. Not bad.

I do have a problem with the very limited preset list (only 5%? So the full version has around 800 presets, then?), and choice of the sounds (I don't consider them representative & varied enough...or maybe they are?) - but that's just me.

So overall, you get a handful of good sounds & instruments that could fill just about any genre requirement (some nice orchestral, basses, guitars, etc), with an acceptable CPU hit (nowhere near as light as advertised though). It works as additional "sonic sauce" (alonside other freebie demo stuff like Lethal maybe), but it takes a lot of diskspace and the download & install process can get helllish (I don't know if it was just my PC acting crazy, or not). Take that into consideration before getting it.

14 February 2017 at 2:26pmvherbal

@idfpower i appreciate your feedback. you may have gotten the 1.02 rendition that was hosted on a server that got bottle necked from all the concurrent downloads. some coding in the installers were changed for smooth install on all systems and the files are now hosted on CDN based servers as well that wont bottleneck so the speeds are alot better. 1-2MBs every place ive tested. as far as the space the 13.3 GB reflects ALL versions. if you notice there are mac and pc folders. that contains both MAC Audio Units AND VSTi versions as well as PC 32 and 64-bit VSTi. Having one streamlined version and file for a free distribution seemed like the best approach. the sound library itself as you know is merely a very small sample size and derivative of the full library, the patch selection in the LITE version was done at my discretion and tastes which may not reflect others. I really appreciate that you enjoyed the product despite a tedious download and install process. like i said those bugs were fixed. as far as the drumkits they are assembled in a template sort of fashion, meaning a certain amount of kicks snares and hats at its core to make the bones of each kit all placed at the same locations per genre so you can merely switch between kits and the patterns will translate similar to what we did on our drum weapons series (which is highly regarded as the best urban drum library/plugin) the kits in nuclear are just an evolution of that. sounds outside the traditional kick snare and hat layouts merely serve as flavor or randomness to overlay which we here at anno domini beats do very often ;) as far as the CPU usage we have ran up to 50 instances on a simple i3, the plugin utilizes direct from disk streaming and aside from the reverb there really isnt anything taxing the CPU at all. this is by design. we also made it so it does not use barely any if any RAM to leave that free'd up as well. the GUI/style of sounds paradox you mentioned is quite simple..most of our products have had a weapon based them due to the company name. thisw was a product we worked on for 3 YEARS and for us and our core customer base it has served as a one stop type solution for sounds for that higher level of quality you usually only see in 20GB piano library with one sound etc. (and people sell for $499+) to bring that level of quality across a general MIDI type soundset covering most bases we utilize in our production work as everyone associated with Music Weapons are working producers each with countless major label placements. It being our masterpiece and something we plan on releasing alot of expansions for we liked the name Nuclear that being a very grand version of a weapons i guess...the GUI is meant to reflect a cold war era secret laboratory type feel. But i appreciate everyones feedback and i hope you find the sounds in the free version useful in your productions. I just wanted to give something back to the production community as well as give people an idea of what our products are like, we have a very high standard as our thousands of customers previous to the release of nuclear can attest to. thanks ;)

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

15 February 2017 at 12:31amidfpower

Well the download chain was quite an adventure, heh :) I got the original info from BPB & followed the link to your website: I entered my email address and...nothing. Then went for a 2nd time. Got the download link, but it was broken. Tried the 3rd time, same result. Got back to KVR and stumbled on the direct download link. Slow and bumpy. Tried again the 2nd day. Almost 1 day full download; right before the finish, the connection gets lost and the download gets broken. Then finally went through (I think the last location was a Mediafire server). And last, but not least, the freakin' install...you get over 13 gigs, just to end up with a 1 meg install. Confusing as hell. You can't move the installer since it has (prolly) hidden files, you need to first manually create the folder you're going to install it in, 'cause it doesn't seem to be able to do that on its own, you need to install both versions (I tried the 32-bit first and the folder was empty, then went for both, but still nada, then went through 3 repairs, and finally 1 version of the plugin got detected - I don't know whether it's related to FL Studio alone, or not). The only thing that kept me going were those good first impressions shared by users :)

Now regarding the drum kits, IMO those random sounds are just too...random. They either sound out of context, or too wacky to include them in a drum sequence. But agreed, it's just me :)

As for the GUI, IMO is still very confusing. You need to go through all the symbols and the hidden menus on the green screen (took me a bit to discover those, heh - what a heck is "VM" = voice mod? / PQ - or is it RQ = preset quality? And I can't see the one in the lower right - VE, VA? I don't know...), while the volume is labelled "ear pain" (really?!?)

Anyway, thanks for the freebie, it has quite a few interesting and out of the box usable presets for sure ;) Much appreciated ;)

PS: I can't see any hidden messages for the life of me - I only get "please wait %", then "ugrade to the full version at..." - oh, and once I've got the "online content and events" message, but then realised the mouse cursor hit the FL Studio menu :) Joking, of course :)

16 February 2017 at 12:37amrifftrax

You guys... just use wget: https://www.gnu.org/software/wget/.

You'll never have to futz around with bad downloads again. lol... seriously it will change your life.

14 February 2017 at 2:29pmvherbal

there are a number of phrases hidden within the GUI via cypher code. Whoever is the first to decipher these words and tells us wins a free full copy of nuclear as well as any expansions ever released for it and every product we have ever made and will make forever ;) PS i am not kidding lol.

14 February 2017 at 3:01pmbob bobwood

Downloaded the 13.3GB zipped file from the link above in just under 2 hours. Not only do you need space for the download you need another 14GB to unpack it, and if you don't remove or delete anything you'll need another 7GB of space to install it in. I deleted the mac package which is 6.72GB as I don't need it, just leaving the 6.61GB windows install pack. Yep, they could have separate downloads and save us all a lot of downloading. Installed the package, which took less than 10 minutes, During the install you have to agree to the license, which is completely blank !?! (probably indicates that they feel there is no need for a license) The installed contents are 6.8GB. And this Maize Sampler instrument gives you 40 presets. They do warn you to pause playback when changing presets and it did indeed crash FLStudio when I forgot to pause on a larger preset.

Fortunately you can delete any presets you don't like to reduce the footprint on your hard-drive and then rezip the presets and the dll as a back up if you wish. On first pass I knocked it down to 22 presets and a zipped back up file of 1.79GB. Second pass got it down to 11 presets I might use and 942MB back up file.

There is nothing here that is exclusively for hip hop and nothing so unique that I'd miss it if I lost it. Still it was free and the point of my post is to give some figures to those that it matters to. Cypher code eh ? I'm gonna need binoculars........

Here's the list of presets;
ACG-CampfireNylon.zx3
ACG-FlangerSteel.zx3
ACG-SmoothMutes.zx3
BAS-AnalogVynyl.zx3
BAS-SubWarble.zx3
BRS-GoldBrsMed.zx3
BRS-HornWartime.zx3
BRS-TrmbMarcHits.zx3
DRM-BluntWrapKit.zx3
DRM-EnsonicKit.zx3
DRM-HitMakerKit.zx3
DRM-MilkCrateKit.zx3
DRM-MpcSixtyKit.zx3
DRM-UndergroundKit.zx3
EBS-ChileDappers.zx3
EBS-DangerBass.zx3
EBS-HardRattle.zx3
ELG-80sKarateMovie.zx3
ELG-DistHOF.zx3
ELG-SuperWahAtmos.zx3
ELG-WildWestish.zx3
ETH-BollywoodPluck.zx3
ETH-EmeraldHarp.zx3
KEY-DeepVibeKey.zx3
KEY-FatRhodesKey.zx3
MLT-MusicBoxx.zx3
ORG-UndertakeOrg.zx3
PAD-AbandonedHome.zx3
PAD-DialatedPupils.zx3
PAD-RetroSpaceDust.zx3
PNO-CellularPno.zx3
PNO-ChamberPiano.zx3
STR-CelloBigStacc.zx3
STR-CelloVibSolo.zx3
STR-MassiveOrchStrng.zx3
SYN-40sSciFiSynBell.zx3
SYN-RadioSaw.zx3
VOX-ChoralChrdsLw.zx3
VOX-SoloSopranoFem.zx3
VOX-WhoaChoirHall.zx3.

14 February 2017 at 4:19pmvherbal

thanks for the feedback. and it isnt actually a maize instrument, more like a derivative/big brother of it. very similar at its core though just further optimized and customized to our needs. as far as having separate links for each version, the isn't feasible as distributions such as this require 1 link per OS and usually per product. the logic is in the modern computer world i can buy a 5tb 7200rpm hard drive for like $60. i would assume most music producers would have ample space unless of course they have wasted 600GB with subpar libraries housing one sound each ;) i also like feedback thank you! i can say whoever you will be hard pressed to find a collection of instruments of this high of quality in one place, that applies to both the lite and full version even moreso. the plugin was made with my specific needs in mind, what instruments i use on a daily basis consistently and making the highest quality patches i could. and while the company does indeed have its roots in the hiphop/urban genre a majority of our customers on this product in particular have been people who do film scoring and things of that nature. but i hope you enjoy the free version and find it useful in your work thank you for the feedback :)

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

3 March 2017 at 7:53pmm4nwsound

Do you have an exclusive version of Maize sampler? Or simply renamed the mse extensions and is talking about a fantasy ..

3 March 2017 at 8:07pmvherbal

we have a custom made version based on the same framework. we have been working with him basically since its inception and most if not all bug fixes and additional features over the last 4 years have come at our request and things we brought to light. what this in particular was made with is essentially a big brother or maize like i said made to our needs for this. but it did start as maize and down the line im sure the things we have in our builder will be implemented in maize as he has done over the years. i hope that answers your question.

14 February 2017 at 4:20pmvherbal

oh and the cypher code does not require magnification. it is right in front of your face ;) lol.

14 February 2017 at 7:50pmbrunothebarber

I bought the full version. Had trouble with the install. It downloads the ISO. In Windows Ten if you mount the ISO file and run the install it doesn't work. Just use WINRAR. And problem solved.

Although they are sending me an updated Link to get a new installer.

19 February 2017 at 2:44pmlayzer

13GB, , , geez why do people bother with such bloat? theres korg m1, wavestation and RavityS romplers.

with a 100 times smaller HD footprint that sounds just as good or better.

31 May 2017 at 2:18pmPeteAtkins

I downloaded it and really liked the sounds but whenever I save and then re-load a session with Nuclear in it my DAW crashes and wont let me open the session. I spent a good day on a song and now I cant access it. I've tried re-downloading and reinstalling.

Please log in to join the discussion

Nuclear VSTi AU LITE

Average user rating of 6.50 from 2 reviews

Music Weapons
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
11 people have added Nuclear VSTi AU LITE to 6 My KVR groups 13 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 119  90  119

30-Day: 178; 7-Day: 171; Yesterday: 187

Advertisements