Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Serum

Rate & Review Serum Now!

Reviewed By clickglue [read all by] on 22nd September 2014
Version reviewed: 10.9 on Mac
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've never reviewed a synth, but this time I want to share my day one impressions of Serum. Because in my view this is a superb instrument. It has the analog sound quality of Diva and can compete with the dance sound of Sylenth, the flexibility, the 'roar' and creative matrix options of Massive, the wavetable sound flexibility of Z3TA2 and then some (like the unique formula-to-wavetabel option of the Max Phase Distortion Synth). Wrapped in a GUI that stimulates exploring all these opportunities. And that's rare. So it starts at a rating of 10 and then you start looking for downsides or shortcomings, which I after two days haven't found. I build a bass-sound like the unique Michael Kastrup Bass Funkay sound in Diva: almost as good. Incredible pads, a draw bar organ second to none, a matrix you can understand, all the effects you'll ever need (although the chorus in Z3TA2 is better) and an LFO that makes you forget there is no arp (and if you need one, just use Cthulhu). Try it. Use it and compare it to your go to synths. See how quickly you make the sounds you want and share your view. I'm convinced you'll be positive.

Click here to read all 10 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Vospi
Vospi
16 September 2014 at 5:51pm

Wow.

PUSHA
PUSHA
17 September 2014 at 11:44am

DAMN!!!! I AM EXCITED TO TRY THIS THANG OUT!!!!! ANY RELEASE DATE INFO?

bitcrusher
bitcrusher
17 September 2014 at 12:55pm

yes, there's an annoucement now here http://www.kvraudio.com/news/xfer-records-announces-serum-wavetable-synthesizer-for-mac-and-win-vst-au-and-aax-27366.

release is planned for this Friday.

powermat
powermat
18 September 2014 at 2:01pm

Still planning on a release, tomorrow? :D.

bitcrusher
bitcrusher
18 September 2014 at 8:41pm

all systems go.

krismiller1982
krismiller1982
19 September 2014 at 1:41pm

Following the countdown on Facebook... Several hours have past since Steve said it would be released.... Take my money already!!!!.

wickermanxxx
wickermanxxx
10 October 2014 at 7:26pm

Based purely on synthesis, this is my favorite soft synth yet.

digiteaser
digiteaser
24 November 2014 at 10:11am

Definitely a good pick. Xenos' review above is a nice resource for getting an idea.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

yoshi303
yoshi303
21 March 2015 at 7:48pm

hello, im new on forum... willing to buy serum for my sounds... :)

1+- how do u set LFO amount ? (for pitch there coarse pitch assignable i saw... but for other thinks ?)

2- how do u decide the LFO start at this frequencie... and not random ? (free LFO mode like sylenth possible ?)

AWESOME SYNTH... my next buy. plz respond ^^ thx in advance <3.

yoshi303
yoshi303
21 March 2015 at 7:59pm

also how i do random and S&H waveform with LFO ?

powermat
powermat
24 May 2015 at 12:28am

you may want to try his website for questions xferrecords dot com.

stunkit
stunkit
14 July 2017 at 12:36am

Can I consider this Synth as the best one on the market for now?

ubailey
ubailey
9 January 2018 at 3:09am

I love this synth.

Fraggle
Fraggle
1 March 2019 at 1:40pm

After 20 years of trying and buying most of the big synths (and some cheaper ones) I now only use Serum and (occasionally) zebra 2.8. The versatility of Serum is breathtaking.

Please log in to join the discussion

Serum

Average user rating of 4.70 from 10 reviews

Xfer Records
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
576 people have added Serum to 27 My KVR groups 781 times
+21 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 23  18  23

30-Day: 27; 7-Day: 38; Yesterday: 36

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
NEW TO KVR MARKETPLACE - PRIME STUDIONEW TO KVR MARKETPLACE - TONE2
KVR LEARN - Apple Logic Pro X - Recording Guitars
Advertisements