Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Serum

Rate & Review Serum Now!

Reviewed By thomni [read all by] on 5th October 2015
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Oh wow.

There's plenty of pros who recommend Serum, and for good reason.

This is the synth I didn't even know I needed.

Having been guilty of G.A.S. before, I was skeptical at first, but once I opened it up in my DAW I could tell it was something special.

First off, it looks amazing. The GUI is top-notch, with spectacular animation for all modulation, and the ability to view the wavetables in 2D and 3D is something special.

It's a breeze to add modulations, which is becoming a nice standard it seems as there's a lot of movement away from the dependency on typical mod matrices and more like a classic modular drag and drop approach.

It's one of those synths that makes experimenting fun, and not a chore or a bore.

The ability to use custom wavetables, and edit them within is exceptional! No need for any external editor, as Serum's own editor is quite usable.

Even the huge list of filters and FX sound great.

Know what?

I'm just going to go back to Serum now, it's too good to be more than 10 minutes away from, I swear.

If you're unsure if you should buy it, just do it. It's not going to disappoint. I will definitely check out the other Xfer products too now, it's that impressive.

10/10 -- buy it.

Click here to read all 10 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Vospi
Vospi
16 September 2014 at 5:51pm

Wow.

PUSHA
PUSHA
17 September 2014 at 11:44am

DAMN!!!! I AM EXCITED TO TRY THIS THANG OUT!!!!! ANY RELEASE DATE INFO?

bitcrusher
bitcrusher
17 September 2014 at 12:55pm

yes, there's an annoucement now here http://www.kvraudio.com/news/xfer-records-announces-serum-wavetable-synthesizer-for-mac-and-win-vst-au-and-aax-27366.

release is planned for this Friday.

powermat
powermat
18 September 2014 at 2:01pm

Still planning on a release, tomorrow? :D.

bitcrusher
bitcrusher
18 September 2014 at 8:41pm

all systems go.

krismiller1982
krismiller1982
19 September 2014 at 1:41pm

Following the countdown on Facebook... Several hours have past since Steve said it would be released.... Take my money already!!!!.

wickermanxxx
wickermanxxx
10 October 2014 at 7:26pm

Based purely on synthesis, this is my favorite soft synth yet.

digiteaser
digiteaser
24 November 2014 at 10:11am

Definitely a good pick. Xenos' review above is a nice resource for getting an idea.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

yoshi303
yoshi303
21 March 2015 at 7:48pm

hello, im new on forum... willing to buy serum for my sounds... :)

1+- how do u set LFO amount ? (for pitch there coarse pitch assignable i saw... but for other thinks ?)

2- how do u decide the LFO start at this frequencie... and not random ? (free LFO mode like sylenth possible ?)

AWESOME SYNTH... my next buy. plz respond ^^ thx in advance <3.

yoshi303
yoshi303
21 March 2015 at 7:59pm

also how i do random and S&H waveform with LFO ?

powermat
powermat
24 May 2015 at 12:28am

you may want to try his website for questions xferrecords dot com.

stunkit
stunkit
14 July 2017 at 12:36am

Can I consider this Synth as the best one on the market for now?

ubailey
ubailey
9 January 2018 at 3:09am

I love this synth.

Fraggle
Fraggle
1 March 2019 at 1:40pm

After 20 years of trying and buying most of the big synths (and some cheaper ones) I now only use Serum and (occasionally) zebra 2.8. The versatility of Serum is breathtaking.

Please log in to join the discussion

Serum

Average user rating of 4.70 from 10 reviews

Xfer Records
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
576 people have added Serum to 27 My KVR groups 781 times
+21 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 24  19  24

30-Day: 27; 7-Day: 48; Yesterday: 66

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
New To KVR Marketplace - Musical SamplingEastWest Voices of Opera $199 thru April 7New To KVR Marketplace - Prime StudioNEW TO KVR MARKETPLACE - TONE2New To KVR Marketplace - Tovusound
KVR LEARN - Steinberg Cubase 10 - MIDI Recording & Editing
Advertisements