Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Sonimus
  4. »
  5. SonEQ
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SonEQ

 My KVR
EQ Plugin by Sonimus

SonEQ has an average user rating of 4.25 from 4 reviews

Rate & Review SonEQ

User Reviews by KVR Members for SonEQ

Reviewed By FarleyCZ [read all by] on March 18th, 2012
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by FarleyCZ on 5th April 2012.

I LOVE when some free plugin kicks a**es of big payware. :) Have already few of them, rewieved few and probably will keep doing this, becouse I can't afford pretty much nothing else. :D

This EQ is example of that. So musical. I swear I heard character it adds in one YT tutorial where they gloryfied some Softube emulation.

In usual cases, especially with acoustical instruments, all you want to do really is low/high cut them and do little simple boost anyway, so I can't tell I don't miss something featurewise, parametric EQ is still parametric EQ, but as far as usability goes, you won't be limited that much. Hey, hear the sound, see missing pricetag! That's the main thing here! :)

Distortion is graeat. Really cool sounding. As always you need to watch out not overdoing that. Freeware plugins sometimes tends to behave crazy when overdriven too much, but can't tell here yet, didn't test it that long.

I usually cut basses too much so I didn't like it on (synth) basses too much. Could be different with acoustic though. But its great for all different leads, plucks, stabs, can imagine it on vocals too. Everything you can imagine runing through the Pultec in your dreams, you can run it trough this with good results. :)

Point down as a dev-poke, couse I'd love to see much more from them, seems like they know their way around DSP. :)

Loving it, love it too, download it and be happy! :)

Click here to read all 4 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Sonimus SonEQ

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Brother Charles
Brother Charles
23 April 2013 at 3:18am

Thanks fese - great little review. SonEQ is one of my favorites too! It really is "something special" on vocal tracks. I often use SonEQ on my own vocal tracks and then apply any little surgical operations with IIEQ Pro. Well, that might be a changing "dynamic". .. "dynamic" because I'm so impressed with Melda's MDYnamic & MAUtoDynamic EQs.

fese
fese
28 April 2013 at 2:29pm

Charles, thank you for your kind words - as English isn't my first language, it takes some time and effort to write just a few paragraphs, and it's nice to see it's appreciated :).

I haven't checked out Sonimus' other stuff yet, but given the quality of this one I'm pretty sure I'm going to buy Sweetone one day, at $25 it's a no-brainer. Also, love the GUI.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
26 March 2018 at 5:35pm

It is not only 32-bit. It is also 64-bit, VST2, VST3, and AAX.

And RTAS in 32-bit.

For OS X, it is VST and AU.

Demo here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Wqvp20K_8

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
13 November 2019 at 12:55pm

Yesterday I re-discovered this great eq. I tried it on a snare and just couldn't believe what a huge difference it made.

I would like to use this topic to ask a question. Can anyone check, if their SonEQFree VST3 version allows numerical input after right-clicking on the knob e.g. BOOST or GAIN ? VST2 has that functionality, but for some reason VST3 doesn't allow it. When I right-click nothing happens. I'm using the latest 1.2.1 release x64. I'm on Windows 8.1 x64.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
13 November 2019 at 2:45pm

I confirm. The readouts pop-up on VST2, not on VST3.

I just opened a ticket to report that bug.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
13 November 2019 at 3:07pm

Thanks a lot BlackWinny.

I emailed developer about it earlier today. So far no response. I just asked a question if that's the proper behaviour. You had better idea about reporting it as a bug. Perhaps something can be done about it. I figured that since last update was in November 2016 and plugin is free, there is very small chance he is willing to check it out.

By the way I have no idea why there is March 2018 mentioned as release date for latest version 1.2 on this website. My plugin has a date 20161123, both VST2 and VST3.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
15 November 2019 at 6:16pm

"By the way I have no idea why there is March 2018 mentioned as release date for latest version 1.2 on this website. My plugin has a date 20161123, both VST2 and VST3."

Same for my copy.

They replied to my ticket, kindly. To get some additional info. So I sent these additional info two hours ago. I'll probably get a new reply tomorrow. We'll see. But I'm pretty confident for a next update with that bug fixed.

:).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
16 November 2019 at 4:44am

I also received an answer from Sonimus yesterday. There is something in the works regarding VST3 support for the 2020 update. Luckily it's not a huge inconvenience and SonEQ can still be used without any glitches.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
16 November 2019 at 1:44pm

So let's wait and see... The issue with the readouts on VST3 will probably be addressed at the latest in the 2020 update.

:).

Please log in to join the discussion