Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for Synth1 Librarian

Rate & Review Synth1 Librarian Now!

Reviewed By DarseZ [read all by] on 15th September 2020
Version reviewed: 2020.901 on Windows.
Last edited by DarseZ on 15th September 2020.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It's no small statement to Synth1's power that there are thousands of presets available in the wild, but there are so many that it's essentially impossible to navigate them all. Synth1 Librarian has done much to tame this powerful beast, and to bring those thousands of presets within useful reach.

On top of all this, the developer NeutrinoSky donates all proceeds from donations to the project to worthy causes. Download, use, and donate. There's no downside here. A great project to contribute to.

Click here to read all 4 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
BlackWinny
BlackWinny
31 January 2018 at 2:45pm

Nice tool to use as complement to Synth1. Thank you.

frankjcc2003
frankjcc2003
1 February 2018 at 8:24am

Awesome!! Thank you so much, Now I can actually use this nice synth, overwhelming before to find a certain style of patches. Good job!!.

toekneebullard2
toekneebullard2
2 February 2018 at 5:15pm

"Here's a video explaining what it is, and how it works (old alpha version)"

Can't see a video?

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
2 February 2018 at 5:23pm

Fixed.

stockholm808
stockholm808
3 February 2018 at 11:34am

The installation of the net framework stops at about 5 procent and doesnt move. Tried both x86 and x64.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
6 February 2018 at 8:19am

Seems this is a long standing Microsoft/Windows/.net framework problem (see here). Couple of ideas:

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Uzone27
Uzone27
3 April 2018 at 6:13pm

This tool is amazing and much appreciated. A long time ago I downloaded more presets for this legendary synth than I could listen to in a lifetime. This makes exploring them fun and productive.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

pedrosura
pedrosura
14 April 2018 at 3:38pm

Access to the path 'C:\Users\Pedro\AppData\Roaming\Daichi\Synth1\Synth1.ini' is denied.

I am having this error. Any ideas on how to fix it??

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
15 April 2018 at 10:02am

First we need to establish if Synth1 Librarian is the problem, or if there's a bigger issue. Try this:

1) Load up Synth1 VST in your DAW (not via the Librarian)
2) Click opt, and change the ExtBank folder to a temporary location (e.g. C:\)
3) Click OK
4) Close down your DAW completely, so that Synth1 VST is unloaded from memory
5) Now restart your DAW, and reload Synth1 VST
6) Click opt, and check the the ExtBank folder.

If the value isn't C:\, you've got some kind of Windows issue. Does your Windows user name contain accented characters? If so, that could cause problems.

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
15 April 2018 at 10:19am

Also, check the file properties for Synth1.ini, and ensure that read-only isn't checked.

pedrosura
pedrosura
15 April 2018 at 4:40pm

Yeah got it fixed. Problem with permissions.

kronplexor
kronplexor
13 May 2018 at 12:52am

With the advent of the Librarian, I use synth1 more often... especially with drone-e and hypercyclic.

kronplexor
kronplexor
13 May 2018 at 1:01am

Zebra could use this as well.. Would be nice.

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
18 May 2018 at 12:50pm

If anyone experienced problems getting Synth1 Librarian to work with their DAW/host (e.g. Cantabile), I've just released a version that hopefully fixes the issue.

maxym.srpl
maxym.srpl
21 July 2018 at 11:30am

Great tool!!.

Could you please take a look at high PPI friendliness?
It seems like it reports wrong windows size to a host.
I'm using 4K monitor, with ppi scaling set to 175%. When the plugin I run the plugin in Reaper in a native mode (without bridging), everything looks properly (fonts are scaled and sharp) but rendered window is horizontally too small. see screenshot

I've also tried to run the plugin in bridged mode. This time the entire window is displayed, but fonts suffer from the issue of non-high-ppi-ready-application, which renders by blurred fonts (those are rendered to bitmaps and upscaled by operating system. See screenshot

This issue might be however related to Reaper bridging implementation.

Link to both screenshots on one page.

Please note I intentionally left host window a bit bigger to show borders of plugin UI itself.

With regards.

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
25 July 2018 at 11:23am

Thanks for letting me know. I'll see what I can do (without having to re-write the UI;)).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
4 August 2018 at 1:08pm

If you have accents or umlauts in your WIndows user name, I've posted a workaround to get Synth1 Librarian working with Synth1:

https://neutrinosky.com/2018/02/07/help-why-isnt-synth1-librarian-sending-patches-to-synth1/

Squash
Squash
2 November 2018 at 8:37pm

How to load the librarian in synth1?

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
13 November 2018 at 7:07pm

The librarian doesn't work like that. You install it as a plugin, and then configure it to point to your existing Synth1 VST. You should find all the instructions to install and configure it on my website.

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
22 April 2019 at 7:29am

Just released a couple of fixes so that your DAW/host doesn't have to be run as Administrator.

StarfighterF104G
StarfighterF104G
11 December 2019 at 12:49am

Hey great job Mr Neutrino! I love Synth1, but patch management is awful and I've tended to drop it out of use - I've needed this app for a long time but didn't realise it existed. Have installed on my Win/10 64-bit machine and using Cantabile, running several instances in parallel without dramas. It is ridiculously easy now to find patches quickly, and "favourite" them for later; with multiple instances it's so cool now to find the right blend of sounds when I've got two or more keyboards running and in the middle of some creative activity, something that would normally frustrate me trying to scroll through the thousands of patches in all those ZIP files. Have made a small donation - please have a pint on me :).

neutrino.sky
neutrino.sky
31 August 2020 at 10:10am

I've just released an update, and you can find more about it here: https://neutrinosky.com/2020/08/31/synth1-librarian-2020-831-now-available-bug-fix-release/

Hope you're all keeping safe and sane, and had a chance to make lots of music during lock-down! Take care everyone.

Please log in to join the discussion

Synth1 Librarian

Average user rating of 4.50 from 4 reviews

Neutrino Sky
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
47 people have added Synth1 Librarian to 8 My KVR groups 55 times
+5 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 231  230

30-Day: 117; 7-Day: 233; Yesterday: 251