Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for Virtual Bassist MELLOW 2

Rate & Review Virtual Bassist MELLOW 2 Now!

Reviewed By como baila [read all by] on 28th March 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I have multiple UJAM instruments that I acquired on the cheap through their promotions after I purchase one of the guitars.

They promote on the 'sounds good, easy to use' principle ... both true.

But for some arcane reason they refuse to implement MIDI out in their instruments, thereby crippling the ability to get creative with the MIDI algorithms the instruments generate and use.

I've contacted them several times over the years to response of 'great idea, we're looking into it.'

Still hasn't happened.

So, I'm not buying or even auditioning any of their new products until they get their act together and implement this essential feature.

Consider this a one star review for the company.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
PeterGorges
PeterGorges
29 March 2020 at 2:51pm

Como Baila - please help me out here: All new instruments feature MIDI Out via Drag'n'Drop, which is the most requested feature by our users. By now, all Beatmakers, all Bassists, all Drummers and Virtual Guitarist Carbon feature this. Do you mean something else by MIDI Out? Thanks in advance and best regards,
Peter.

como baila
como baila
29 March 2020 at 5:01pm

Hi Peter, .

Thank you for your non-defensive response and over-looking my pique.

Yes, I do mean something different. Dragging MIDI loops is not MIDI out. MIDI out means that whatever MIDI is currently being generated by the instrument as it is programmed flows out in a MIDI stream that can be captured/ recorded or trigger another instrument. This would permit more creative and interesting ways to accompany the UJAM instruments.

It is not the MIDI found in the dragged loops that are intended to program a UJAM instrument. It would be the notes played by the Bass or Guitar after it they receive their program.

That is MIDI out.

PeterGorges
PeterGorges
31 March 2020 at 9:27am

Hi Como,
no worries - I understand pique and appreciate the emotion as a good sign!
I had a suspicion about what you mean by MIDI Out and that's Live MIDI Out - your reply confirms it and I agree it's a cool feature.
Now, while we're quite flexible as a software company to implement those features, like any other software company we're bound by limitations such as "resources" and "priorities". While I can't promise you a release date, what I can promise you is that we register your suggestion, put that request on the radar and carefully weigh it against all the other urgent things on our backlog, so eventually it may make it into the products - and if we do it, we'll do it UJAM style (simple, intuitive) and across the board.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

como baila
como baila
31 March 2020 at 5:29pm

Peter ...

As I said, I'm done with UJAM absent MIDI out.

I've been around KVR for over 10 years and own multiple virtual instruments from developers large and small. None of them call dragging a MIDI loop "MIDI out," and I've never heard "Live MIDI out" uttered around KVR as an equivalent of MIDI out.

Your response is the same corporatist porridge I received almost 2 years ago when I contacted your company directly; or, when I added a comment to a similar point made in a YouTube Video review of one of your products last year.

I don't think anyone needs edification on "resources" and "priorities." Sadly, to date your company fails to see the priority of development of a professional virtual instrument.

PeterGorges
PeterGorges
1 April 2020 at 8:09am

Don't be disappointed. I can control what I promise, I can't control what you read into it. I wasn't trying to mince words, I wasn't trying to educate. In simpler terms: If enough people ask for it so that gets prioritized up against tons of other things people ask for, we'll do it.

como baila
como baila
1 April 2020 at 2:14pm

People can only read into things that are ambiguous. When you said, "I can't promise you a release date," it implies that you already plan to release something.

You have every right to develop as you see fit and economically feasible. I have every right to be disappointed and critical of the state of your development based upon my experience with virtual instruments and the unrealized potential your instruments have.

In my opinion calling MIDI Drag n' Drop MIDI out is mincing words and it is difficult to understand how you initially failed to understand what I meant by MIDI out.

Regardless, an initial succinct response to the effect 'I am sorry you're unhappy with the lack of MIDI out, but we have no plans to implement it at this time, though that could change in the future if there is significant user request, ' would suffice.

WatchTheGuitar
WatchTheGuitar
31 March 2020 at 2:43pm

I'd also like to request live MIDI out, but more in a "nearly 5 out of 5, your instruments sound great and the product rocks" kind of way;-).

Please log in to join the discussion

Virtual Bassist MELLOW 2

Average user rating of 1.00 from 1 review

UJAM Instruments
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
1 person has added Virtual Bassist MELLOW 2 to 1 My KVR group 1 time

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1840  1352  1780

30-Day: 487; 7-Day: 734; Yesterday: 1087