Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Waveform 9

Rate & Review Waveform 9 Now!

Reviewed By spoontechnique [read all by] on 16th August 2018
Version reviewed: 9 on Windows.
Last edited by spoontechnique on 16th August 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Admiral Bumblebee already did a comprehensive review of Waveform 9 here. His review in part convinced me to buy Waveform.

Short review: Waveform is well worth the money I paid and the time I've invested in it.

Long review:

Context: Previously, I used Ableton. I wanted a DAW to bounce my stems to and mix in. I generally prefer using third party plugins and was satisfied with the plugins I had, so I went with the basic option of Waveform and won't evaluate the stock content. With an EDU discount, I paid 55 dollars. At first, I only mixed in Waveform. After a couple projects, I felt almost as comfortable in Waveform as in Ableton, despite having years more experience in Ableton. I now primarily use Waveform for all tasks. I've used Waveform for 3 months and spent ~150 hours in it. I'm a hobbyist producer making hard dance music with minimal recording.

Unique Features: 1. The signal flow is intuitive. Input > clips > plugins > output. 2. Racks let you set up complex FX chains with any routing you like. I haven't scratched the surface of racks. I love the stack editor for creating kick chains. 3. The Return/Send system is god tier in terms of flexibility. 4. Clips have a lot of great options, like clip FX, Step/Edit clips, and saving clip presets. 5. Automation, macros, and modulators are flexible and work well together. They are confusing at first, though.

Weak Features: 1. MIDI editing is 90% there. With MIDI clips, the selection of tools and options is comprehensive, but they aren't fun to use. There's no specific problem (sometimes scrolling horizontally jumps too far, replaying the current clip requires setup, triplets have to be clicked as a global option rather than within the clip, etc.). Step clips have the opposite problem: they're fun and easy to use, but they lack features. 2. The pattern generator has major potential, no pun intended, but it's clunky. It requires you to follow a certain sequence. If you decide to change a chord, for example, all your later changes are undone. I'd use it more if it was more flexible. 3. Submixes are strange. They mess up some things, such as rendering, sends and returns, and they cause crashes sometimes. In general, there are a lot of odd situations that cause unexpected crashes for me. Seemingly random crashes make me very anxious, and I've set autosave to happen each minute. But I get fewer crashes with each update.

Overall, Waveform is extremely flexible, between clip FX, racks, the aux system, automation, macros, and modulators. It's intuitive, well-designed, and fun to use. It's packed with small conveniences and bonuses that make life easier. Always check the control menu! There's always a dozen extra options down there to help you out. Waveform is a great DAW, and I'm satisfied with using it as my main DAW.

Click here to read all 2 reviews

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
benedictstaana
benedictstaana
1 February 2012 at 2:38pm

Hi there! I wanna start a recording hobby, i bought mackie profx 8 mixer together with tracktion 3 basic bundles. im using windows 7 and the program was installed successfully, but the problem is when i'll start recording a track after I have imported an instrumental wav file (track 1), whenever I arm the track (track 2) where I will record my vocals, and then I'll press record, the instrumental on track 1 is also recorded in the track 2 where Im recording the vocals. Can anyone help me please? Thanks!

mr
mr
1 February 2013 at 12:46am

DO you have the monitors speaker on and registering on you mike?

If you want to hear the instrument an sing at the same time you need to have earphones and the output to the monitors off .

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Jafo
Jafo
21 March 2017 at 8:41pm

Many x64 plugs aren't supported on Tracktion x64, but their x32 versions work fine on Tracktion x32 -- Ignite's The Anvil and TSE's x50 come to my mind immediately. ISTR it's something about the plug devs fudging the spec a bit. Maybe it's this issue. To tell, go for an x32/x32 system -- if said plugs work, it's said bug rearing its ugly head. (Maybe heads; it's more hydra than dragon!)

Most of us either stick with x32, find alternate plugs or load the x32 plugs in a bridge. A lot of people seem to like jBridge, but its (admittedly miniscule) cost exceeds my means, so I wouldn't know.

the Small One
the Small One
21 June 2018 at 12:40am

Hey All, .

ok, I have searched for an answer but I haven't found one so .... Using Waveform 9 in DEMO mode (want to try it out) and I am trying to find out why it is not loading any of my plugins. They are all in 64-bit (Maschine, Addictive Keys, NI Komplete 11 Selective, Positive Grid Bias Amp, Melodyne 4, Izotope (a stack of them) and more)., it sees them and says that they won't load. Any suggestions (besides I might be an idiot.... :-)) ????

Oh windows 10 64-bit, i5 (4 core 6th gen), 6 GB RAM. I have recently updated Maschine to Maschine 2 and have update all programs. It works fine in Tracktion 6 but .... ??

Lori Ilona
Lori Ilona
15 August 2018 at 2:11pm

Hi, I had that problem too...it has to do with the plugin paths that are missing from the automatic scan. You have to add some paths manually. Especially this one: users - public - public documents. I went through both program and Program x86 folders, almost folder by folder, to not miss a single one plugin or instrument :) but the above path is important for Native Instruments! What I also di - but I don't know whether it is important or not: on the right panel of the plugin page I created groups and dragged in the plugins from the legt into these groups. Btw. you can NOT rename the groups even if it says so. Good luck.

BRONXYbeatz
BRONXYbeatz
22 June 2018 at 9:54pm

Can i extract groove/swing from audio?

Please log in to join the discussion

Waveform 9

Average user rating of 4.50 from 2 reviews

Tracktion Software
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
282 people have added Waveform 9 to 13 My KVR groups 348 times
+8 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 190  146  190  17

30-Day: 206; 7-Day: 286; Yesterday: 272

Advertisements