Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for Waverazor

Rate & Review Waverazor Now!

Reviewed By ] Peter:H [ [read all by] on 29th November 2019
Version reviewed: 2.x.x on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Like it. It's definitely unique in sound and style. People tend to say the gui is not "normal" like every other gui.

But with a synth that unique and that versatile it's just their bad luck. HrastoProgrammer Transitov is another gem of the same kind, where people complain about the GUI and it's complexity. Guys music is not about GUIs, it's about sound. And if you are looking for unique sound and not for an eye pleasing gui, check out Waverazor. It was very unique to do OneSynthChallenge #119 with Waverazor. So many times we get yet another subtractive synth without any new features. But Waverazor was different, challenging but at the same time very rewarding if the challenge was masterd. Just check out the results of the OneSynthChallenge: https://soundcloud.com/kvrosc/sets/one-synth-challenge-119

Reviewed By ecton [read all by] on 7th January 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by ecton on 7th January 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The main principle of the synthesis of Waverazor seems to be the switching between multiple editable wavetables in sync with the key frequency of a note. Actually not a difficult thing to do, but it's the idea that makes the difference, right? Waverazor sounds much like any other synth if the sounds are static, but if you begin to mangle them, you get the chills, because you can manipulate a wave cycle in the microsound time scale - but unlike granular methods would allow for. Great and innovative synth with a sci-fi look to it! The reason I only give it 8 out of 10 is that the user interface does not yet let you manipulate every parameter manually.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Skarin
Skarin
21 January 2018 at 5:34am

1.0.4 Version crash, when i load up another instrument, - Helm or Dexed is tested.

Im on Linux Mint. Tested in Bitwig and Waveform.

r_mok
r_mok
6 September 2019 at 12:04am

Hey Sakrin, sorry for the ridiculously slow response, I didn't notice that we had a discussion area here.

Version 2.0.9 is the latest version (https://www.tracktion.com/products/waverazor), the crash issue you are describing was most likely fixed quite a while ago. If you are still having trouble, please let us know.

Best regards, - Rob.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

oddy.o.lynx
oddy.o.lynx
29 January 2020 at 8:23pm

Waverazor will not load on Debian 10 Buster

Debian Buster has moved from libcurl3 to libcurl4 for libcurl4-openssl-dev.

ldd Waverazor.so
./Waverazor.so: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libcurl.so.4: version 'CURL_OPENSSL_3' not found (required by ./Waverazor.so)

all other dependencies are satisfied.

In Debian 9 Stretch libcurl4-openssl-dev depends on libcurl3, which the current build of Waverazor uses, and it is not compatible with Debian 10 Buster as it depends on libcurl4, .

r_mok
r_mok
29 January 2020 at 10:17pm

Thanks for the heads up, it looks like Debian removed libcurl3 at some point. Generally, having Waverazor use libcurl4 seems fine, it seems fairly common these days. My only concern is that our baseline support OS is Ubuntu 16.04, and libcurl3 and libcurl4 don't seem to have a simple method for co-existence on Ubuntu (maybe on others as well?), so hopefully a change to libcurl4 won't put a bunch of other users in the same, but reverse, situation you are in. Thoughts?

SmoothMountain
SmoothMountain
9 February 2020 at 11:35pm

Greetings;

I'm using Reaper 6.03 native Linux on Ubuntu 18.04. I upgraded to 18.04 about 6 months ago. I'm now having similar issues running Waverazor...

My thoughts; looking at the Ubuntu release info, Ubuntu 16.04 was released in April 2016 (almost 4 years ago) and will reach the end of standard support in April 2021. 18.04 was released in April 1018.

I now see the dilemma for developers...

My vote is to be in the middle of the curve. It appears that Ubuntu LTS end of standard support happens every 2 years. If you are using Ubuntu as the release standard (one of the reasons I chose Ubuntu in the first place), then move to the latest LTS release 1 year after it is released. That is nowhere near the bleeding edge of new releases, but not too far behind the development curve, either.

Moving to the latest LTS version 1 year after it is released is not forcing people to use a bleeding edge OS.

Just my 2 cents... and thank you for supporting Linux.

SmoothMountain
SmoothMountain
10 February 2020 at 2:22pm

A quick clarification: I just downloaded the trial version yesterday, that's why I said "I'm now having similar issues running Waverazor..."

I want to be clear that I did not have Waverazor running previously.

oddy.o.lynx
oddy.o.lynx
26 March 2020 at 5:50pm

My suggestion is to have two builds. Keep the current version that hat uses libcurl3 and is compatible with Debian 9 and versions of Mint and Ubuntu that has Debian 9 as its base, and build another version for Debian 10 (and subsequently newer versions of Ubuntu and Mint) that use libcurl4.

Many developers already do this.

r_mok
r_mok
26 March 2020 at 5:58pm

I like that idea! That actually simplifies my build scenario somewhat in that case... I think. The bonus is that we don't have to abandon one group of users over another. Thanks for feedback, again.

oddy.o.lynx
oddy.o.lynx
26 March 2020 at 6:08pm

I am glad to offer this suggestion. Happier that it's a workable solution.

I currently use the LE version as I have a license for Tracktion Waveform 10. I am looking forward to this as I was very interested to purchase a full license for Waverazor sometime in the near future. Unfortunately this libcurl issue put a halt to that.

Looking forward to seeing the build when available and will give feedback once I can test it.

Thanks again.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion

Waverazor

Average user rating of 4.50 from 2 reviews

Media Overkill
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
22 people have added Waverazor to 6 My KVR groups 27 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1911  1398  1843  111

30-Day: 3402; 7-Day: 2499; Yesterday: 9503