What software to get as a workstation?

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey KVR friends,

I'm finally deciding to go all software and start all over in creating a new studio. Right now I have a max budget of only 400 Canadian $ (including taxes, so that's actually 350) since I'm just a student and want to buy my software legally. What I'm looking for is a core collection of sounds, sort of like a complete workstation that would cover all the bases. I also want to play these instruments live in the near future (like a real keyboard workstation) easily. So here's what I'm looking at right now:

Reason 3 - (C$ 350)/ Sampletank L 2 - (C$ 323)/ Manystation - (C$ 80) + other VSTs.

I have tracktion 1.6 has my host now.

Any suggestions or ideas? I'd really liked Steinberg Hypersonic since it seemed to suit me perfectly but it had dongles and was C$ 400 :( Also reason 3's live features look very promising.

Thank you!

Consider Ravity + Wusikstation or Manystation as one possibility. If budget allows, right now Manystation is offering a reduced price for Wusikstation owners.

I like the Kompakt sample set, although I'm not wild about the gui/implementation quirks. However, that'd probably take most of your budget - you might be able to squeeze in one of the three above along with it.

Budget allowing, get sfz+ to cover "all the free soundfonts and samples you can download". Or use sfz for free.

Doug
Logic is a pretty flower that smells bad - Spock, in "I, Mudd"

For a good time click http://www.belindabedekovic.com/video_fl_en.htm

if you want hypersonic you can afford it
just do a search on ebay...
i got my unopened copy for 100$
that was usa dollars...but still a lot cheaper than anywhere else
cheeRs