Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New#KVRDeals

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
FM8 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By dune_rave [read all by] on 10th December 2017
Version reviewed: 1.4.1 on Windows.
Last edited by dune_rave on 10th December 2017.
7.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Ok, This will be a review in 2017 of this great FM8 synth.

I'm a long time user, like this synth from the beginning when it was called Fm7.

First things first, I cannot hide my bad feelings about the existing bugs NI don't repair.

FM8 should deserve some little development to complete the almost perfect realization of a modern FM synth.

Here's the "bad" list - critical things need to be fixed :

--------------------------------

1) IF YOU PUT MANY PRESETS IN YOUR PRESET DATABASE, YOU MUST TURN OFF THE OPTION "DATABASE HIT COUNT" - IF YOU DON'T DO THAT, PRESET BROWSING WILL BE REAL SLOW.

2) IF YOU INSTALL THE LATEST VERSION, AND YOU USE THE 64-bit PLUGIN, THE ARP SIMPLY IGNORES THE FIRST STEP - SO IF YOU WANT PERFECT FUNCTIONALITY, YOU WILL USE THE 32-bit PLUGIN, EVEN IF YOU HAVE 64-bit OS AND 64-bitDAW.

3) IN REAPER, IF YOU USE 32-bit PLUGIN (EVEN IN 64-bit REAPER), IT'S OK - IT WILL BE BRIDGED. UNFORTUNATELY ONE MORE LITTLE WINDOW APPEAR. SO YOU HAVE TO CHECK "RUN AS"/"EMBED BRIDGED UI" OPTION - AND FROM THIS POINT, THE 32-bit PLUGIN WILL APPEAR JUST AS YOUR 64-bit PLUGINS APPEAR.

Here's the "Nice to have" list of things that are not critical like the things above:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- FM7 colorful look disappeared with the new version. FM8 should look not white imho - it should be just as colorful like a JUPITER synth. In FM8 you can find great piano sounds, great guitar sounds, great synth sounds - so many different instrument and how does the software look like? It's white - nonsense.

- GUI resizing, or option of change between different sizes. A feature we can see in many synth, even those that considered being "old". If we can see a resizable Sylenth1, or change the size of the ImpOSCar gui, why can't we do the same in FM8? If Arturia can update their synths to modern GUIs, why can't NI?

- Skinning possibilities. Think of it like outsourcing : the plugin developer only need to create the possibility of skinning, and from that point, any gui designer can create nice skins to that plugin. I'd like to see this in fm8.

Show-stopper list : FM8 is just one fm synths, many great are existing - maybe the newest you can find is from Arturia.

So if fm8 won't be developed, people will start to buy more modern synth like the one from Arturia, or perhaps a synth that is just partly fm, like Zebra or Bazille. So this list is about real new functionality:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- Layering & defining keyboard range: FM8 is on the list of synths that can use very small amount of CPU. So why can't we use it in 4 or more layers defining the key range of each layer (with overlapping)? Like the zone editor in Avenger.

- Locking : if you lock some part of a preset, after changing to another preset the locked parts remain the same. Locking arpeggiator, locking effects, etc.

....... I could sit here and write many things, but won't. To sum up things, FM8 is quite good synth, with some annoying silly things (this is why my rating is only 7). It has a great "fanbase" (like Massive), and therefore I don't see why NI don't publish the "roadmap" for its development. Maybe NI will handle FM8 and Massive like they did with Pro-53 and B4 and Kore.

CS-3301 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By preso1616 [read all by] on 8th December 2017
Version reviewed: 1.3.5 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Please check this out - and read carefully - this Plugin will blow your mind .

I have put this Channel Strip up against an entire rock MIX and compared against Waves E-Channel, G-Channel, Schepps73, TG12345, Slate Virtual Mixrack, PluginAlliance BX console E and G. Every Plugin set to get the best possible sound on every Channel, Bus and Mixbus - and a time limit to eliminate endless tweaking but also see who quickly a good result could be obtained.

First of all - PERFORMANCE - is unbelievable. This plugin consumes almost ZERO resources, I could hardly believe it. This is very efficient and powerful.

The SOUND of this plugin is unbelievable and outperforms all other Channel strips I tested execept the bx_console_G from Plugin Alliance which had a better stereo spread due to it's 72 channel emulation. This Channel strip has a warm analog sound and the EQ as well as the compressor are the extremely musical. The entire mix has that warm sound where drums, bass, guitars, piano and vocals just melt together with incredible overtone simulation. I don't know how they did this, but it really is amazing. On rock guitars, piano and drums I found this to be the best of all - WOW. The verdict is out on Vocals cuz I ran out of time but Vocals and Backup Vocals sounded beautiful, rich, warm, full but I ran out of time to take it all the way. With the plugin on every channel, bus and mix bus, the entire mix is fat in the lows, harmonious in the low mids and mids and warm and musical in the upper mids and high frequencies. I had to play with the saturation knob a bit. Boys and Girls, the Guitars - the Guitars... this is thing is crazy good on Guitars - it cuts through like a Waves E-Channel, has the mids of BX-console G channel and that special something that I cannot explain - you have to try this yourself. You can also set the ANALOG noise level but I ended up not using it because the Plugin is way enough analog sounding already.

The LOOK of this plugin could be much improved. I found it disturbing that all EQ ranges have the same color knobs - makes it more difficult when rushing through, jumping around, especially in the fine tuning stages. The size and response of the knobs is perfect. The Analog NOISE feature is hard to see since it's sort of hidden in the lower graph bar - but it's there if you need it. The layout is intuitive and easy to figure out. LOVE the analog volume meter. Suggest they add the choice of.

The PRICE - What a relief that finally somebody put out a great Channel Strip which even people with smaller wallets can afford. I stumbled across this cuz I was stuck on a rock mix and looking to get beyond what I had in my library and I found happiness. This Plugin is a MUST HAVE in your arsenal.

I have spent serious hours and effort in setting up a comparison between this plugin and some top sellers of the top plugins out there and my verdict is certain. This was tested on a rock mix, as mentioned before and this Channel Strip shone and took the mix to another level. And sure, everyone has his tastes but I was trying to remain as objective as I could despite the euphoria I experienced while working with CS-3301.

Kameleono [read all reviews]
Reviewed By skarabee [read all by] on 6th December 2017
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I was looking for a tiny but powerfull live arpegiator/sequencer plug-in and found Kameleono.

Kameleono is a real new MIDI machine, with lots of innovative features. Can be used for live play (sequences/bass lines), you can use your own MIDI files or patterns in your DAW to send rythmic sequences and play live (or send chords/notes track), Kameleono will sequence your favourite virtual instrument.

one-finger chord mode, scales, many latch modes, transpose in and out. The sequence can pick velocity/pan/mod from the rythmic pattern or input notes (or a mix of both)

Tested with Cubase, Live, and Mulab, very stable. Also tested with Bitwig demo, can't find more simple: drag/drop Kameleono, drag/drop a synth behind and you're ready to play with Kameleono's pattern presets.

Also tested with 3 instances: one for bassline, 2 for synths, all in sync, no hiccups.

If you want to use patterns on your DAW, once you have understood the way it works (one MIDI track for rythm datas > kameleono, one MIDI track for notes input > Kameleono, one MIDI track for your VSTi with Kameleono as input), it's very easy and fun to use.

AGTC [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Rakbeatzz [read all by] on 4th December 2017
Version reviewed: 2.5.1 on Mac
3.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Needs an update immediately.

The sound is great but the notes sometimes sustain on their own, seriously spikes audio meters in Logic pro X (10.3.2 with 32GB of ram). This happens constantly if more than 4 notes in a chord are played. The bridge pickup is as expected given the type of instrument that the Telecaster is, and again sounds great but it has been way too long for AmpleSound not to revisit this plugin with an update. This would be such a great guitar if AmpleSound put a bit more care into it.

Enzyme [read all reviews]
Reviewed By SoundGoddess [read all by] on 4th December 2017
Version reviewed: 1.x on Windows
9.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love how this synth sounds. The included patches are pretty great. Not the easiest synth to do sound design with, but it has a unique way of modulating stuff. Can get some sounds that nobody will know how to recreate, and that is always a nice way to differentiate yourself as an artist.

Enzyme [read all reviews]
Reviewed By pause6969 [read all by] on 4th December 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.62 on Mac
9.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Enzyme never lets you down, even if you don't have a clue about how to operate it. Hit the randomize button until you're satisfied and you'll most likely get a sound close to what you're looking for in the first 10-15 tries. I love it.

Enzyme [read all reviews]
Reviewed By sacho31 [read all by] on 3rd December 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.63 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is, along with Native Instruments' Absynth 5, my favourite virtual instrument.

The synthesis method is quite difficult to understand, but you can quickly get a sound, thanks to the randomize function. You can use your own samples on the three parts of the synth : Hammer, Centre Wave and Masses Wave. Add a little bit of FM, an effect, a filter, press the "Danger" button, multiply the oscillators with different distributions of frequencies, and enjoy the powerful sound of Enzyme.

All parameters are tweakable by LFOs and enveloppes, and the modulation matrix is infinite.

I don't understand why nobody ever rated or reviewed this synth, because it is simply amazing. I tried a lot of VSTIs and was often disappointed by the lack of innovation, but this one is a beast.

OrilRiver [read all reviews]
Reviewed By DirtyLoud93 [read all by] on 2nd December 2017
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 be on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

this plugin is amazing in my opinion. I use freebies plugins mostly, and this is the best reverb VST so far. The control of dry & wet signals on different channels, and even of the early reflections and the reverb tail makes mix stage very comfortable and is a must have for every plugin of this genre. If there's a way to donate to the developers I'd really appreciate to know that.

Kastelheimer Veldberg XD [read all reviews]
Reviewed By tf-drone [read all by] on 29th November 2017
Version reviewed: n/a on Windows
5.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Just (2017-11) bought the full version. It comes as 32-bit VST with a serial number.

The gui is rather big and straightforward. The waveforms and filters are really very good, and the presets too. Basses, FX, Leads, Arps, the special Psy sound, all very clear and diverse. It has a modulation matrix with 6 entries, each with the same 5 sources and 6 or so destinations. Effects are 'only' a synchronizable delay and a flanger, but that is not a problem. CPU load is very low, 4% in Ableton on my Lenovo notebook.

However, it has several missing but important parameters:

NO key velocity, NO aftertouch, NO pitchbend, and NO modulation wheel sensitivity.

If these parameters were present, a rating of 8 or 9 would be in order. For now, I can only give 5/10.

A bit funny is that the gui is part english, part german, but the synth is easy to understand, so everybody will get the hang of it quickly. Quite astonishing that so much is possible with so few parameters, so the "four NO's" are even more annoying.

An update would be really great.

Linux MultiMedia Studio (LMMS) [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ubailey [read all by] on 29th November 2017
Version reviewed: 1.13 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I love this daw. This is what i used before i upgraded to FL studio. If you dont have the money to afford one of the more well known professional daws like fl studio, ableton, logic pro, or protools, LMMS is awesome for a free daw. There are no limitations really. It has a step sequencer, piano roll, linear playlist, comes bundled with internal plugins like synths and drum makers, mixing and mastering tools, mixer with routing capbilities and an infinite fx chain, and it is compatible with a lot of vst's. The only thing this program lacks are some of the advanced features of programs like fl studio and ableton, but a lot of those things can still be accomplished manually. It also has automation. Very good daw for free.