Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
VTD-42: Vintage psychedelic analog tape delay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Jhweinbe [read all by] on 19th February 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very underrated plugin. This is such a lush and musical tape delay that has a character of its own. Its lushness is comparable to Valhalla's Vintage Verb, and it doesn't sound bad on any type of track. The presets are pretty extreme and don't really show you how you'd be able to use this as a go-to plugin, so I recommend dialing in your own settings, .

Sound-wise, I see it working for practically any genre. It's clean enough to fit comfortably into modern electronic-sounding productions, yet has enough character to fit in real well with those going for more analog sounding vibes, like myself.

I think the only reason this plugin isn't more popular is because it's for Windows only. But if you a run your DAW on Windows, I highly recommend this plugin, especially for its low price.

PSYCHEDELIC FX 6000 V1 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Juciytriqs [read all by] on 19th February 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Beautyfulll Psychedelicccccc and futuristicc sounds, works perfect in apple Mac OS X logic. Saves lot of time, im using it in intros and buildups, lot of fun and creativity. Can be used in almost all electtonic dance styles i think.

X-Prog 4600 - Progressive psytrance instrument [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Juciytriqs [read all by] on 18th February 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by Juciytriqs on 18th February 2018.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Brilliant, perfect progressive sounds! They sound perfect alone but can be easily modified by additional effects to brand new sounds. It saves lot of CPU processing power and RAM, usually when I create 5 sounds like this with seerum and effects 70% of CPU is used and death and i spent 2 days of work, but i need 100 sounds like this in track, so it takes one year to produce one track :-))) now i can focus on melodies, arrangements, structure of track and its mood and atmosphere, and mix. Im using basic synths for easy standard sounds, for pads fxs drones leads etc im using xprog and psychedelic fx 6000, , I hope they will release more instruments soon..

Acoustica [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Marcel L. [read all by] on 18th February 2018
Version reviewed: 7.0.51 on Windows.
Last edited by Marcel L. on 18th February 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Acoustica v.7 by Acon Digital (for PC and Mac)

(an insider tip for professionals and beginners)

Background

I am an old musician from the analogue days. Since I gradually switched to the digital world about 20 years ago, one of my priorities has always been to use programs and plugins that are as intuitive and simple as possible on the one hand, yet still without lacking nor quality nor essential features to work on a high level on the other hand.

Within the years, I have found the DAWs, plugins and musical programs that fit my needs. One thing was missing, though: a good audio-editor, especially for delicate restoration and editing purposes. Everybody who records acoustic instruments (especially string instruments) or vocals knows the problem of having a great track but with some annoying noise(s) in it, such as clicks, crackles, pops, bangs etc. I had tried out various restoration plugins to solve this inevitable problem, nothing really convinced me.

Another important aspect for me was - since I have always been teaching, too - to find a simple DAW with which beginners could learn the basics and principles of (digital) audio production, without getting confused by hundreds of additional features, yet still on a high quality level.

Acoustica v.7

Fully featured audio-editor, simple and intuitive to use, with restoration tools and many other plugins/tools for all editing-, tracking-, mixing- and mastering-tasks: But even a "mini-DAW" (cf. further below, chapter "mini-DAW"):

  • restoration and spectral cleaning: from my experience the best restoration tools I have ever used. Spectral cleaning (only available in the Premium Edition) is ideal for delicate tasks by applying repair tools across time and/or frequency, which allows to clean up a noise at a certain frequency without affecting the frequencies of the same band where there is no noise. Here, Acoustica really shines.
  • editing: from basic to most subtle tasks, everything you need is available.
  • mastering: all you would expect.
  • recording in editor: one track at a time, Premium Edition also supports simultaneous multichannel audio recording, editing and rendering in up to 8 channels, such as 5.1 and 7.1.
  • CD-editing.
  • simple recording and mixing in Multitrack-Session: unlimited tracks or stems, time stretch clips, automate volume, pan and send levels (Multitrack-Session tracks have less features available than the full editor).
  • possibility to open several tabs in one project (you can compare different masters or mixes, or to reference tracks).
  • installing both 32-bit-version and 64-bit-version in parallel: this way you can work with 32-bit VST plugins when needed. Installation goes very easily and smoothly.

A clarification:

Some people might get confused about the terms "multichannel" and "multitrack session". So let me shortly explain: You have 3 different possibilities when you open a new project:

  1. New Recording = opens the full editor, as described above, with all possibilities available. Here, you can record, edit and render a mono or stereo track, or (only in the Premium Edition) up to 8 channels (= multichannel). Ideal for people who work in Surround 5.1 or 7.1.
  2. New Multitrack Session = opens a new tab for recording and mixing as many tracks as you like, as described above.
  3. New CD Project.

Acoustica comes in 2 versions, both with plugin support for VST, VST3 and AU for Mac:

  • Premium Edition v. 7.x for US$ 199.90.
  • Standard Edition v. 7.x for US$ 59.90.

I recommend the Premium Edition, but the Standard Edition is also very good (see comparison sheet on acondigital.com - Products - Acoustica - Features).

Individual plugins (in 32 and 64-bit for VST, VST3, AAX for Windows and AAX and AU for Mac) sell for $ 99.90, but if you buy the Premium Edition of Acoustica, you will get a 50%-discount on the plugins (ask Acon Digital's support when buying, they will send you a coupon code).

Check homepage for videos and sound examples of the plugins.

My personal experience and the way I use Acoustica

After having used Acoustica Premium Edition for a few weeks now, I can say that it fulfills my expectations. All features and GUI are very well thought through and everything you would expect from a professional audio-editor is at hand, yet even more. In no time I was able to use it with minimal time spent and having to refer to the manual only punctually.

It's true, you can track, edit, mix and master fully within a DAW, a dedicated audio-editor is not absolutely needed. But it definitely offers advantages, especially in the case of Acoustica. My procedure now is the following:

I record a delicate track (track by track) into Acoustica where I have all the excellent editing- and restoration-tools at hand, clean and edit it before exporting it to a DAW for mixing. Eventually, I export the final stereo-master-mix (or stems) out of the DAW into Acoustica again where I do all the mastering (and still some editing if needed). This procedure has proven to be very useful and efficient, especially cleaning and editing tracks/clips with outstanding tools before entering a DAW.

"mini-DAW" for beginners

Of course Acoustica is aimed at experienced users, but I think it's also a great program for beginners. It's the perfect program to get you familiar with the basics and principles of digital audio production. You won't get lost here.

In the Multitrack Session Tab you can record, edit and mix different tracks (or stems), use audio-effects (inserts and sends/returns), use effects on the master bus, time stretch clips, automate volume, pan and send-levels; in the end master and render your mix into all common formats.

As somebody who has taught - and still does - younger and older people in audio production, I know the difficulties they have when first being confronted with a mixing desk or a DAW with endless features, plugins, etc. Most of them are completely lost or even intimidated.

And the internal plugins and tools of Acoustica are so good that you don't really need external ones - except for saturation-, channel strip- and delay-plugins (which I recommend to you).

Once you are familiar with the essential features of recording, editing, mixing and mastering audio, you can sooner or later buy a major DAW, it works on the same principles at its core. You will be able to much better make a choice of which DAW to buy, for there are so many.

Just one thing here: ALL major DAWs are very good and capable of delivering excellent results in our days, as is Acoustica as an editor and a "mini-DAW", it only depends on the person who uses it. That is why I am not giving any suggestions here. The differences lie in the way DAWs approach the different tasks, in the additional features or functions, there can also be differences in the quality of the included plugins and tools, and of course in the price.

Don't believe this blatancies claiming that "one DAW sounds better than another one". Yes, there is a DAW such as "Harrison Mixbus" (by the way excellent if you like an analogue style of working and a virtual analogue mixing console), that has already saturation built in so it sounds more "analogue". But you can get the same effect by adding external saturation plugins or channel strips to any DAW.

Remember - things are always only getting more complex, but the principles remain: an audio signal comes in from somewhere and eventually goes out - after some detours and additions - on a master bus. Find out for yourself, do some research, by testing, asking around, checking the internet (lots of boasters and dilettantes there; also lots of superficial, mediocre and very subjective stuff; but also many good, capable and helpful people which you will soon be able to distinguish). You have plenty of time to do so while you are working and progressing with Acoustica.

Acon Digital

I generally prefer small companies where the developer(s) can be reached directly, and which don't have marketing budgets but offer top quality instead and with regular updates based on customers feedback (just to make it clear: I'm not saying that big players don't have top quality, of course they have, too). The problem is you often won't find them on "best-lists" etc., you need a hint.

The attitude of the company is very customer-friendly. It counts on honesty. (Remember: cracking or cheating = stealing, especially from such sympathetic companies with very fair prices and service who trust you). No online-activation, no dongle, just a S/N or validation-file, that's it (like other great small companies).

Final remarks

Try before you buy - you can download trial versions from the homepage. And you should also download the free and also outstanding plugin "Multiply" (Chorus) to get an idea of the quality and GUI of Acon Digital products.

I wrote a more detailed review on the other big audio site (here 10'000 characters only). If you still have any questions, you can contact me on mdl747(at)gmail(dot)com. I cannot promise to answer immediately, but I will do my best.

Marcel L.

February 2018.

X-Prog 4600 - Progressive psytrance instrument [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Herakhless [read all by] on 17th February 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Mac
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is fantastic plug-in for Progressive psytrance, but can be used also in classic trance, tech-house etc. It saves lot of time for producers because normally it is very difficult and time consuming process to create this kind of sounds. But these sounds can be easily modified by external effects if you know how.

Normally Im lazy to write reviews but im surprised by nonsenses which wrote Siriusquarks in previous review, man stop smoke and learn something, ,
a.) you wrote that sounds in plug-in are different than in demo, are you totally deaf? These are the same sounds but you dont know how to produce proggy psytrance! These are the same sounds but they used reverb + analog tape delay!! This is essential for progressive psytrance, try to use these sounds with UberMod from Valhalla DSP and preset analog tape or G-Sonique psychedelic tape delay + add reverb, also use sidechain compression of kick drum, this is basics of progressive psytrance production
it just show that your skills are none, you are beginner but please try to learn something befor hating perfect product and do not write total nonesenses

b.) yes price is higher because they sold first 100 copies, now they offer higher but still discount price for next 200 customers

X-Prog 4600 - Progressive psytrance instrument [read all reviews]
Reviewed By siriusquarks [read all by] on 16th February 2018
Version reviewed: 0.2 on Windows.
Last edited by siriusquarks on 16th February 2018.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Bought this without testing. No automation, no arpeggiation, very average sounds completely different to what you hear on the video promo. When I got to the website to buy, it was more expensive that advertised here. That should have warned me...

Velvet [read all reviews]
Reviewed By sticky.original [read all by] on 16th February 2018
Version reviewed: Idk on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

For the price, hard to beat this. Ability to create gorgeous keys with loads of depth and an all round lovely sound. Would recommend.

Tube Amp [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Illusions Recording [read all by] on 15th February 2018
Version reviewed: 2.5 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Personally I like this plugin. I tested it with a tone and analyzer so I could understand its sweet spots and limits. It can be pretty subtle or a very agressive, like a real tube. With everything at minimum setting, it still produces some subtle harmonics, ideal for the master buss if the mix needs to sound a little more round and full. With higher settings I got a saturation similar to tube preamps and in mode 2 I added some more agressive distortion to an electric bass. Overall it is a useful tool for me and it is free so thank you Voxengo.

DC1A [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Illusions Recording [read all by] on 15th February 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by Illusions Recording on 15th February 2018.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This compressor warms the sound and glues everything together. I prefer it when I want a smooth result. However it can be snappy too. I was very impressed with it and I purchased the full version a few days later. But I still use the free version often, because its two button approach works great most of the times. I use the full version when I need to tweak more parameters to get a specific sound.

it is a very good compressor and I recommend it to everyone because it is free and definitely worth trying.

Hurdy Gurdy [read all reviews]
Reviewed By robmack [read all by] on 14th February 2018
Version reviewed: Latest on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I bought a few Hurdy Gurdy libraries. This was more interesting and flexable than the more expensive ones. Love the Leslie/delay and cab features.