Sounds of Old School Gaming

How to make that sound...
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've been away from this forum for a reaaaaally long time - and from music, syntesis and forums in general. Anyway - I've found inspiration again and when browsing KVR, the forum headline: How to make that sound, grabbed my attention.

Here's a video tutorial I made on designing old school, computer game like sounds using the Elektron Analog Keys. And the techniques used could most likely be used on other machines as well.

Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmDMmNy49Tc
Electronic Rhythm and Melody since 2002

Interesting. You might find some stimulating conversation around these ideas, and the hardware of old, at the various game/system emulator forums, in particular the Bannister/MESS and MAMEWorld forums (Emuchat) with blokes like R. Belmont and Lord Nightmare, perhaps some others.

being a software developer, i have followed the topic of "reduced bit synthesis" for many years.

pause for emphasis.

there are videos i would like to link here from youtube but youtube has obfuscated all "my favourite" "liked" "subscribed" video list features, so i cannot find what i watched four months back.

i thought these videos are called 8 bit micro symphonies, but if you type that in, you will be digging through shit all day

you see, to me, it is a big, big mystery why people attempting to emulate a digital synthesis technique, are doing so with aa oscillators.

what a poverty that "that is all we have!" when the raw materials are right in front of you, unavailed as no one releases any platform for them.

the videos i want to link generate "songs" by using low bit depth math operations... eg.

n is an unsigned short int (0 to 65535)

the audio signal you want is a char (8 bit variable).

so you do something like

n++; //(n is just counting)
(char output) = ((n * 13) >> 3) | ((n + 17) & 95);

and it, maybe, produces some weird burst of noise.