The drum machine is dead. LONG LIVE THE DRUM MACHINE!

Anything about hardware musical instruments.

Do you use hardware drum synths or software and samples only?

Hardware drum synths all the way, how dare you use a computer!
3%
Software and samples only please.
32%
Software or hardware is fine as long it it gets me where I want to go.
55%
You'll pry my x0x box out of my cold dead hands.
1%
I hit things with sticks. (sometimes fish)
9%

Total votes: 105

RELATED
PRODUCTS

There. I said it. :scared:

Note: I'm not a drum machine "player" in the way a lot of people are. I'm a guitarist and keyboard player for the most part, so I mostly use these boxes for composition and not performance.

Lately I've been G.A.S.'n for a hardware drum machine. Why? Not sure but they're sexy to me. It's not like I'm a drum machine virgin. I've had many though my life, starting with the Mattel Synsonics in 1980 or so. Like so many, I was disappointed with the lack of realism of the early analog stuff, and later came to appreciate it.

At a point in the early 90s I grew frustrated with the sequencers in these boxes and I abandoned them for a "workstation" keyboard. Ensoniq TS-10. Loved that sucker. Fun and fast to work on. All the drums were PCM samples so basically if you couldn't get the sound you wanted with effects (which were quite good for their time)

Anyway, I went though a few other boxes including a E-MU Commandstation and a Korg ESX-1 though at some point all of them bugged me in some way. It was around this time that I was starting to abandon live performance anyway, so I transitioned to a laptop/Live setup.