Recommendations for a first MIDI Keyboard?

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi all!

I've been gathering up a few soft synths and getting my feet wet on my hobbyist home recording setup. Soon I'm going to be in the market for a 61 or 88 key midi controller.

Primarily I play rock/metal, but will occasionally dabble in purely electronic things like some downtempo hip-hop instrumental stuff. I'm not a pianist by trade, but I'm decent enough to fake it!

As far as my uses for the controller, I want to use it for controlling synths and also for a few things in Komplete (primarily the sampled pianos and Kontakt.) Additionally, I'd like the controller to have a set of drum pads and faders for playing virual drums and sample pads, as well as having some DAW integration for mixer/fader control.

Right now I'm considering either the new Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2 or a Nektar Impact LX88+. The Nektar seems like it would be more versatile overall, but I also see the value in the Komplete integration with the S61 controller. Additionally, I realize there is also an NKS profile for Diva which is probably a nice bonus.

The Komplete controller is at the top of my price range, and admittedly, the lower price point of the Nektar is enticing for all that it offers.

Thoughts? Any others I should consider?

I

If you have the money, i'd get the Komplete Kontrol S61. It's supposed to have a nice keybed, which is surely WAY better than the Impact's, and i think the NKS integration is very interesting too, and a big plus is that you have two big screen to see the parameters. If it's really between those two, get the S61.

I'll admit I don't know much about MIDI controllers, but I'd go with the Kontrol S61 if I were you, if only for the easy Komplete inegration.

Though I've heard good things about the M-Audio MIDI controllers.
My solo projects:
Hekkräiser (experimental) | MFG38 (electronic/soundtrack) | The Santtu Pesonen Project (metal/prog)