MMultiBandDelay and ducking

Official support for: meldaproduction.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

Is ducking achievable with MMultiBandDelay's controls somehow?

(Sorry for the brevity, I hope I can get this one single sentence through the spam filter now.)

I try to elaborate a bit more, if the spam filter let's me:

I've been testing MMultiBandDelay before and I've always liked it's controls and sound, but now I have a certain goal in mind, which is to get a delay with ducking.

I use Reaper and I read that I can achieve that with getting the input through ReaComp. I tried that and got some results, but handling the process bit tedious for me - I'm not a producer wizard of any kind. Also, I'm over the demo period and the buzzing makes testing even more tedious :roll:

(sorry for a double entry, I' better go to sleep now..)

Hi,

I have really no idea what are you trying to do. It seems you somehow confuse Delay and Dynamics, which are obviously very different things. But yes, MMultiBandDynamics can do ducking.
Vojtech
MeldaProduction MSoundFactory MDrummer MCompleteBundle The best plugins in the world :D

If I understand the OP correctly this can be achieved by using a moulator in either follower or envelope mode, tweaking the settings appropriately and make it modulate the output volume of the delay negatively. That would be the "wet" parameter, and remember to disable the "Project unto the LFO shape" setting.
Set "Range Mode" in the modulator to "Interval", "Maximal Value" to 0.00% to duck the delay completely into silence or a slightly higher setting to hear some of it.
Set "Value" to 100%.
If using the modulator in Follower mode turn down "Level max" to around the level you want the ducking to kick in and tweak to taste, adjust "Level min" if nescessary.