Melda transient effect a bit... meh?

Official support for: meldaproduction.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Anyone else find the melda transient processor a bit underwhelming compared to other Melda plugins? Previously I was using Waves' Trans-X and that seemed to do a better job of transient detection and with less crackling. I've been using the melda one extensively for a couple of years now and tend to get better results with the 'approximated' rather than 'accurate' detector mode, but it's still either crackly or missing a lot of transients.

So, my suggestion would be to add some additional controls to the plug that help hone in on a better sound. Maybe an RMS control (to smooth out those crackles), a 'hold' control, maybe even attack/release controls. I'm not sure what's going on behind the scenes of the detection, but any way to further tailor the detection would be beneficial too, maybe EQ/filtering or more detection modes.

The added benefit is that any improvements made to this, would no doubt be able to be carried over to the transient detection used by the modulators... which I also find to be pretty unusable for my purposes for the same reasons.

Additionally, not being able to hear the sustain portion only, as it is not available with the 'Output' setting, makes the 'sustain' part very hard to assess.

Am I the only one to feel this way? I was wondering whether it was one of the older plugins that hadn't been improved much over the years.

Thanks!

As an example of what an awesome transient processor can do, check out this:
http://www.molecularbytes.com/mbcms/ind ... ctransient

vectorwarrior wrote:As an example of what an awesome transient processor can do, check out this:
http://www.molecularbytes.com/mbcms/ind ... ctransient
This thing looks REALLY sick! Very impressing, indeed. But the (intro!) price tag is just out of this world for a transient designer... or as long as you're no professional at least...