Recommend Good Sounding Headphones for 100-150$ range

For iOS (iPhone, iPad & iPod), Android, Windows Phone, etc. App and Hardware talk
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I have no knowledge where to start or what sounds good and no nearby stores that i can demo so am willing to buy based on recommendations and see where that gets me. If possible I am looking for really good sounding headphones, not necessarily flat freqeuncy response for mastering etc like a good pair of monitors like krk
more like the headphone equivalent to a good hifi stereo system if that makes sense. Of course headphones for mixing would be considered if recommoned highly though.
Last edited by Touch The Universe on Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
High Quality Soundsets for Lush-101 | Hive | Electra 2 | Diversion | Halion | Largo | Rapid | Dune II | Thorn | and more.

TTU Youtube

Oh goody, another headphone thread.
"I was wondering if you'd like to try Magic Mushrooms"
"Oooh I dont know. Sounds a bit scary"
"It's not scary. You just lose a sense of who you are and all that sh!t"

I have MANY headphones (including some hi-end electrostatic Stax earspeakers), but I've nothing against a few models within your budget. I would highly recommend you get either Sony MDR-7506 or Audio Technica ATH M50. Both are closed back, foldable, portable and sound great. Sony has more accurate mids, Audio Technica has more extended bass. I have done a lot of work on the Sonys, they translate to studio monitors and film dubbing stages (I work in audio postproduction) real well.

Hope this helps.

Have a good day!

Audio Technica ATH-M50x <--you won't regret it! :-)
C/R, dongles & other intrusive copy protection equals less-control & more-hassle for consumers. Company gone-can’t authorize. Limit to # of auths. Instability-ie PACE. Forced internet auths. THE HONEST ARE HASSLED, NOT THE PIRATES.