Organizing an on-stage setup

For iOS (iPhone, iPad & iPod), Android, Windows Phone, etc. App and Hardware talk
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey all, I could use some help. I'm a computer music veteran, but new to mobile stuff, having just 'discovered' it's potential the other day. And I'm a novice at-best regarding matters of the stage & band.

Yet, A vocalist friend of mine has asked me to help her figure out how to bring mobile tools and options to her live band's on-stage setup. They're a classic configuration band, who do mostly covers, but my friend wants to introduce some live signal processing, sample triggering, and anything else that might be a useful, reliable, user-friendly addition to the stage. Most likely it will be only her handling that tech, and outputting a signal via mobile device - I imagine others will want their instruments steered clear of all the wacky computer mumbo jumbo.

I've been doing a lot of reading on what's out there, but it's a lot to take in. Can you folks help me understand what the total setup might look like?

1) My first impression is that an Apple tablet is the only competitive choice at the moment. Is this true? I don't like that notion, seeing as I don't like Apple, but I want to go where the reliability(and low latency) is.

2) What does the stage signal chain look like, for instance for a vocalist? The mic is analogue, the stage mixer is analogue, but a tablet is digital. What conversion options and setups do people use?