Feature Request: Drag & Drop MIDI from RC to DAW

Official support for: musicdevelopments.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi

I've read this request in the feature request thread many many times, yet I have not seen the feature in the roadmap. I think it deserves its own thread as I think it's a big deal.

I like RC for its many possibilities and composition power. It allows many ways to work, but I think it's unfortunate that it forces you to develop your composition from start to finish in RC. It sort of locks you in. Yes you can export and import MIDI, but in my opinion it's not an efficient workflow.

I'm not a music pro but I like the composition power and generator features of RC. I'd like to use them up to a certain extent, and then move to the DAW. When something doesn't play out, I'd like to continue developing the idea in RC and again, quickly move over parts of my composition to my DAW for further development.

I think many people would like to use RC as idea generator, and develop their ideas to a certain extent, but then move to a DAW like Ableton or Logic or Cubase. So I'd like to request again the "Drag & Drop" of MIDI for a rapid turnaround. This is how it could work:

Develop music ideas, then drag and drop the MIDI parts into your DAW. Develop further. If something doesn't play out, return to RC, develop further or make some variations of your theme or chord progression, quickly drag and drop it back to the DAW. I'd like this roundtrip workflow. Currently it only works with time-consuming export and import of MIDI, which kills the flow and productivity for this workflow.

There's a basic rapid melody generator called Sundog Scale Studio (http://feelyoursound.com/sundog/) it does exactly that. It NEVER comes anywhere near RC's capabilities, but it features exactly this kind of roundtrip workflow if you want to give it a look how it could work.

Thanks for the great software.

Hi,
did you tried Ctrl+Drag (PC) to daw?