Create VST Distortion in SynthEdit?

Modular Synth design and releases (Reaktor, SynthEdit, Tassman, etc.)
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Can it be done? I'm new to the whole thing and I mostly want to make fx for my guitar parts. I tried just putting a multiplier on a signal but that just pushes the volume to clipping in the whole track. I was looking for a way to limit the overall signal while still distorting the waveform so I could have distorted but quiet sounds. Can SynthEdit do that? Newbie looking for help so thanks in advance.

Patrick

Can it be done?
A simple way, use a waveshaper 2 and use
tanh(x) to "shape" the signal....

ik.

Try a Waveshaper2 module after the multiplier.

Alternatively, search the net for distortion modules:

Dave Haupt made a great soft distortion module for example..

I am yet to find a decent sounding distortion for SE. Using a Waveshaper sounds horrible and Dave Haupt's module, whilst it sounds alright, doubles the CPU usage of a synth whenever I use it.
NOVAkILL : Asus RoG Flow Z13, Core i9, 16GB RAM, Win11 | EVO 16 | Studio One | bx_oberhausen, GR-8, JP6K, Union, Hexeract, Olga, TRK-01, SEM, BA-1, Thorn, Prestige, Spire, Legend-HZ, ANA-2, VG Iron 2 | Uno Pro, Rocket.

two level adjusters and one sv filter can do wonders here :love:

what about this ... just an idea...
http://www.prodyon.de/files/simpledist.zip

BONES, try this:

Signal -> Multiplier (input2 = distortion amount) -> Waveshaper2 {equation: 5*tanh(x)} -> MoogFilter -> Container

into Container:
Signal -> SV Filter (bandpass, 3.3KHz, resonance 7)
Signal -> SV Filter (bandpass, 180Hz, resonance 8)
both SV Filter outs get mixed together to the output
and to an AllPass Filter (resonance 10)
AllPass Filter (which is in parallel with the SVF's) to the output

Adjust AllPass Filter's freq from 0.1 to 5 for a cabinet emulation

More complex cabinet emulation can be done with some more SVFilters and Allpasses

ZioKiller wrote:BONES, try this: