Fifths Tuning

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hola Everybody,

I've been playing my Linnstrument 128 for about 3 months, but I dedicated the first two months to experimenting with it. I've spent quite a deal of time trying out all different tunnings, figuring out how to play scales and chords (albeit very clumsy).

What I found to be best is the fifths Tuning. You can limit yourself to only 7 columns to play scales up and down (3 octaves) without moving your hand horizontally. This has also helped me to find my way around easily because visually the pattern that makes up a scale is more intuitive than the other tunnings.

This tunning also allows the Linnstrument 128 to be easily split into a bass range and a melodic/comping range without losing any useable range. What I did was set the let split's lowest note to the lowest note on an upright bass and set the right split to the highest note a violin can play. With this and the 3+ octave range, means that each split has a greater range than most bowed instruments's fundamental ranges (based on this).

Later on I will try to post either a video or some kind of guide to better explain how I use this tuning and what is the technique I developed for it, in case it is useful for anybody else.

What do you guys think about this? Have you experimented with other tunnings? Which do have you found the best for you?

Saludos,
Gustavo

Hi Gustavo,
Fifths tuning is probably the only rival to fourths tuning for general performance on the Linnstrument. As a guitarist though, fourths tuning is definitely my preference because I can already visualize everything well in that tuning without having to re-learn the "fretboard." If you already play violin or an instrument that is tuned in 5ths, I could see that being your preference for the same reason.