I'm a producer, and I've had an epiphany

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm the kind of guy that has no DSP programming ability, but boy I'm full of ideas, ideas that are sparked from the procedures I follow when mixing. I'm thinking more on the area of EQ right now and one thing I'd like to see in existence these days would be a Layering Parametric EQ with visual feedback.

Let me expand on what I mean.

Let's say there's a Parametric EQ plugin that can read each instance of its self in your workstation inserts. Each time you add this Parametric EQ to a bus, or a send or whatever you like, it shows up in a tab inside each other instance. The graph inside has the ability to allow you to look at two of them simultaneously, with a transparent overlay and compare the analyzer graphs, and allows you to pick a color for each one that get blended in some way to let you see overlapping frequencies where a conflict is located between them.

Each node that the user adds can be controlled with mid/side processing or simple stereo processing. The handles on the EQ nodes can be engaged on both simultaneously and programmed a few various ways. either to mirror each other on the X axis but inverted on the Y axis, so as to cut one is to boost the other, unless the nodes are decoupled on one or both axes, the nodes in the EQ can also be static or dynamic.
The dynamic mode does whatever the user sets it's mode to whether that be to mirror or opposite to the other EQ graph.

The EQ would also allow the user to input a sidechain that takes an incoming audio signal and uses the average level of the sound to sweep through or boost frequencies at a specifiable range, so as to temporarily filter an area when the incoming signal is playing, attack and release times can be specified too. this would be useful for smoothing out artifacts.