human-usable instruments list

Official support for: zynaddsubfx.sourceforge.net
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi

I've been using Zyn for a couple of years in conjunction with Rosegarden. I am continuously working on 50 or so songs while learning guitar. Zyn is GREAT but I have a problem each time that the ZASF plugin package gets upgraded and all the instrument #'s change. At such times I have to load each song into Rosegarden and then spend hours re-assigning the instruments.

The latest package I got with openSUSE 'Tumbleweed' has them up to over a thousand and I can't even find what folder the banks are stored in. Almost all the numbers are different, it's hell.

I don't know how the package is _designed_ to work but Rosegarden sorts the lists by the numbers and not by the names, this makes it very difficult to find a given instrument.

Is there anything I can do to make at least the transition easier? Ideally I'd like to list instruments by name, like so

Guitar Acoustic Nylon
Guitar Acoustic Steel
Guitar Dist. #5
Bass El. Picked
Piano Concert Grand
Piano Saloon

This would allow me to go immediately go to the instrument section in the list where all the variants of that instrument would be found in one place.

TIA

Does rosegarden support sublists or some similar functionality?
I can see how a giant linear list would be a PITA to deal with.
One of the developers on the ZynAddSubFX open source synth
The author of the Zyn-Fusion UI for ZynAddSubFX

thanks for responding

I'm 72 and not a developer and wouldn't know. But I took up the topic with the rosegarden devs on that mailing list when the zyn instrument list rose to around 900. The answer I got was just short of arrogant, something to the effect hat 'let the Zyn folk fix their own bugs'. And yes, it *is* a helluva PITA :-) but I once chewed my way through it.