How to utilize multiband compression to "glue" the mix so well?

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to music production (I've been doing it for 2 to 3 years), so I thought asking this question here would be the best idea.

Lately, I've been trying to catch up with some new trends in several underground music circles, and I stumbled upon this hip-hop project, which is maybe not necessarily very pleasant to listen to for everyone, but its producer uses multiband compression in a really distinctive way, and it is something I'd like to emulate, mostly for educational purposes.

So my question is, what is really happening in those instrumental tracks? How do they sound so glued, almost flat, but without losing too much (saying it very loosely) dynamic range (at least in terms how they're being perceived, when being listened to)? I've tried to get the same results, but I'd always end up with some nasty clicks, overpowering sub or overly flattened mix. I feel like I'm doing some very naive mistakes here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jtf8k1uoWfc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5V7_KVTq3g
Last edited by kkanibal on Wed Jun 15, 2016 3:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

@edit: Double post, sorry.

For so called glue, I'd be far more inclined to use a wide band limiter. Multi band anything should only be used for problem correction, IMO.

Hermetech Mastering wrote:For so called glue, I'd be far more inclined to use a wide band limiter. Multi band anything should only be used for problem correction, IMO.