Improving bad dialogue recordings for podcasts

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys! I did a thread search and went back a few pages and found a few tips, but I figured it was still relevant to make my own thread for this question.

I've recently made friends with a podcast producer. A lot of his interviews done remotely over the phone, so he sends people an external iPhone mic for better quality audio capture. Unfortunately, some of the interviewees don't use the mic, and there's no way to know that until after he gets the audio.

I offered to help him clean up some of his bad audio recordings that he's scrapped because I'm up for challenge. He's particular about audio quality, and he's ditched plenty of interview content because people didn't use the provided microphone or because of a bad recording environment. He also knows I'm an amateur with mixing/mastering, and is happy to give me some practice. So, here I am.

He sent me his first recording recently. It sounds like it was recorded with the iPhone voice memo recorder on the stock microphone. The voice (female) sounds nasal, honky, has no depth, etc. It almost sounds like it's out of phase, if that's possible with something recorded on speakerphone. And of course, all the plosives, the pops and breath noises ... yeah, it's bad.

For the sake of content propriety, I won't post any before/after clips here. But I'll share what I did to this track to clean it up:

1. Acon Digital Restoration tools to remove plosives, crackles, and the distracting noise junk.
2. ReaGate for the producer's part of the interview bleeding into her phone, de-ess, and Nectar Breath Control.
3. Impulse response of a good mic.
4. Desk saturation via Klanghelm SDRR, with some modest bass cut and treble boost dialed on the plugin.