Getting started in electronic music production (with hard synths)

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello everyone.

I have recently began producing music in Fl studio. I have been messing around with Harmor. I however am taking the time to learn my music theory. That is probably what I have been studying and practicing the most right now.

I've decided I want to use Hardware synthesizers to produce my music. The kinds of artist I listen to are Moby, M83, Passion Pit, MGMT, etc. I listen to Porter Robinson, Madeon, and some monstercat artist, and other artist as well, but I mostly enjoy the synth sounds from Moby, Passion Pit, M83, etc. I also am getting into some 80's electronic music as well.

However, I am a total beginner. I don't know a whole lot about electronic music. I've been researching about Fl studio and how to make music in there, but I now am starting to research hard synths and producing music with real synthesizers and other instruments.

I have about $450 right now, I can save up too. I tried synth shopping, but I don't know what I'm looking for. I've tried seeing what my favorite artist are using, but I don't want to just use synths that other artist are using just because they use them, if that makes any sense. I've saw Deadmau5 in his video using a Modular Synthesizer on a rack? I read a webpage on beginning modular synthesis and it said it is a really good way to learn synthesis for beginners. But then there are other synths with keyboards? Like the Korg synths and Moog synths. I thought the Korg Volca synth looked good and sounds good, but I don't know what I'm looking for.

I do have a local synth shop, so I can go there to try synths out. Maybe I can ask the owner questions about synthesis and electronic music production.