3am - less than three (old school horror/suspense)

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Had some time to kill this morning so I threw this together...

http://www.3amnoise.net/less_than_three.mp3

Kinda' inspired by those cheesy synth soundtracks for horror movies in the eighties. It's pretty long but it got some cool parts, it works best with some sort of visual but I'm not good with that sort of stuff so you can provide your own :)

It's all Roland V-Synth processed by DSI Evolver and U-he's MFM2. I put some effort into getting some kind of vintage tape vibe using the Eiosis AirEQ and PSP Vintage warmer... effective? Let me know what you think.

3am

Great soundscape! I like the contrast of thundering, ripping, sweeping sounds with the chattery stuff. Gawd the sounds are beautiful... I'm totally jealous of that hardware setup...
Image Image

I will take this home with me, though I'm upset that you reminded me that I once sat through all of Suspiria.

Its like you are conducting an orchestra of B52 bombers, analog synths, and haunted organs. Very nice. The warbled "talking" sound in the background is right outta my most overwhelming nightmares. Great ride, J.

very nice.

the only thing I would say, comparing what you set out to do vs. what you achieved is:

this mix has too much balls...an 80s synth score would have thinned that way out. :)
rrrc.bandcamp.com||bandcamp.com/blatanville
"ALL YOUR CUBASE ARE BELONG TO REAPER" - 5.1 Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:17 pm
i9-10900CF|32GB|Nvidia RTX3060Ti|Win 11|REAPER|FLStudio|more plugins than I've had hot meals

Thanks guys, I think there is a little bit too much going on in general (in terms of events and frequency range). I'm really struggling to be happy with my stuff in this style, part of me wants to hold a single chord for 5 minutes but the kid in me gets impatient that it's not 192bpm (yes, that is a typical tempo for me).