mxml Error When Opening Instruments / Can't Save

Official support for: zynaddsubfx.sourceforge.net
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, I'm fairly new to ZynAddSubFX but I've made a couple tracks with it and love it. The only problem is that I can't save an instrument. I have even made my /home/megsuma/banks folder the only banks folder to choose from, but when I "WRITE" a new instrument and, say, check PADSynth and uncheck ADDSynth and then load the instrument again, the ADDSynth is checked and PADSynth is not.

This is where mxml comes in - I cannot load the default banks either. When I choose any instrument (stock or one I made), the command line displays:

Code: Select all

mxml: Bad control character 0x1f not allowed by XML standard!
Any help would be appreciated - I've tried the latest stable Zyn and 2.6 mxml.

Did you compile Zyn yourself, or get it packaged from a distro?

There are issues with compiling against some versions of MXML but I know 2.5 works fine.
It wasn't me! (well, actually, it probably was) - apparently now an 'elderly' so maybe I forgot!

I compiled from source, and I thought I checked for anything related in the Makefile.inc to encoding or xml, but no luck.

Here are the notes I made for installing it (in debian linux)

install autoconf
install build-essential
install libfltk1.1-dev
install libmxml-dev
install fftw3-dev
install libasound2-dev
install fluid
unpack zynaddsubfx & cd to the directory
make clean
make

The image can be run directly at this location or can be moved to /usr/local/bin
It wasn't me! (well, actually, it probably was) - apparently now an 'elderly' so maybe I forgot!