Which virtual instruments should I keep? In need of advice in purging my VSTi plugins.

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Dear fellow KVRers,

I'm seeking advice from veterans who are recovering from the newbie G.A.S. addiction to accumulating too many softsynths, have tried them all (or a significant quantity of these) and have found those that are keepers.

Some Background Information

I'm a long-time geeky guitarist-songwriter and software power user who knows a bit of keys. I'm a huge synthesizer fanatic and have always wanted to learn to use these amazing instruments. About a couple years ago, I finally decided to take the plunge into MIDI keyboard controllers and VST software synthesizers/samplers. Since then, I've been a common noob in accumulating too many virtual instruments (free, magware and commercial), soundbanks, tutorials and the like that I now find myself too overwhelmed to actually work on my music. I spend all my time trying out different VSTis and sounds trying to find those that I like for a song that I never get any effective recording done.

Compounded to this are certain health challenges that have severely limited my capacity to work in my normal career as a business analyst/technical communication consultant. Thus, I haven't been able to work for over two years, which has caused me financial troubles. Fortunately to some degree, despite my health challenges, creating and working on music is one of the few activities I can still perform for a few hours a day.