Allomerus - An Unexpected Journey

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

An Unexpected Journey (Instrumental Prog Rock)

John Wegner: Guitar, Synths, Bass
Paul Wegner: Drums and Percussion

Thanks to those that listen. :)

http://soundcloud.com/allomerus/an-unexpected-journey
Bandcamp
Music with progressive intent.

fantastic - great playing "to the song" rather than showing off (which I hate) and really like the structural shifts. I think you could change the sounds a bit more in the middle third - eg the bass line across that 4-5 minute section could benefit from a different sound - I'm not really a prog rock lover so for me the first and last thirds are the best. But totally pro sound

Excellent melodies, I like the slow pace, I mean... You took the time to explore every theme with no hurry.
I really like the section from 2.30 to around 5 min mark
The final guitar lead is also enjoyable and I like the way it turns into a middle eastern vibe thing (well done), leading to the end.
This is a fine track, I wish I find one like this every day in the Café... :hihi:

Keep up the good work
:tu:

Cheers

woggle wrote:fantastic - great playing "to the song" rather than showing off (which I hate) and really like the structural shifts. I think you could change the sounds a bit more in the middle third - eg the bass line across that 4-5 minute section could benefit from a different sound - I'm not really a prog rock lover so for me the first and last thirds are the best. But totally pro sound
Thanks Greg. Glad you enjoyed it. I really like making the song come first rather producing than a shred fest, so I am pleased you saw it that way.
I'll have another listen to the bass now that you point it out. There is a lot happening on this track so I appreciate you noticing things like this.
Cheers,
John
It's not too late to go over to the dark side... ;)
Bandcamp