ZDF with Inverse Laplace Transform

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm new to Laplace Transforms and ZDF so I'm asking here a few pointers if it can be done something along the following lines:

1. Place poles and zeroes on the S-plane.
2. Integrate the time domain from 0 to "t" by dividing the S-domain transfer function by "s".
3. Do Inverse Laplace Transform.

Now if I understand correctly, you're left with infinite impulse response integral (from 0 to t) of the filter you just described on S-plane? Let's call this h(t).

Then what?

Also do I need to use Heaviside step function somewhere?

...or am I doing it all wrong? (I probably am)

Kraku wrote:I'm new to Laplace Transforms and ZDF so I'm asking here a few pointers if it can be done something along the following lines:

1. Place poles and zeroes on the S-plane.
2. Integrate the time domain from 0 to "t" by dividing the S-domain transfer function by "s".
3. Do Inverse Laplace Transform.

Now if I understand correctly, you're left with infinite impulse response integral (from 0 to t) of the filter you just described on S-plane? Let's call this h(t).

Then what?

Also do I need to use Heaviside step function somewhere?

...or am I doing it all wrong? (I probably am)
If you have the continuous time transfer function you can derive a structure and digital zdf implementation directly from that

Edit: getting some more info together

The normal way to do bilinear transform (BLT) is to replace every "s" in the analog transfer function with the BLT differentiator 2*(z-1)/(z+1), or equivalently replace every "1/s" with the BLT integrator (ie. 1/2*(z+1)/(z-1)).