How much money have you spent on plugins?

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, how much have you guys spent on software?
I am a newbie and it seems quite expensive. I am wanting to start with Logic Pro or Ableton Live, but liking Logic more from videos.

Also, how much money if any have you made with music?

Hi 808fate. You can spend tons on plugins, but I would recommend to choose a DAW that you like working with, start with stock plugins and get the hang of it before you are going to buy a bunch of plugins. If you run into the limitations of some stock plugins after a while, you can always start to buy plugins. Probably by that time you will have caught a bad case of GAS anyway.
As for your other question: I have not made any money, it is a passion for me not work

a few thousand. I shudder when I think about it. The biggest chunks go to VSL SEs, and IK. Most of what I've bought over the years still works fine on my M1 Mini.
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that."
-Martin Luther King Jr.

You don't need ANY plugins.
Totally master your DAW for the first few years!
OR: $60/month x 3 years = $2100!
F E E D
Y O U R
F L O W

Maybe 2k. But spent more on a cello and piano each.
Get Reaper as your DAW and just download Dexed, Odin2, Vital, Surge, Supermassive Valhalla, MCharmVerb, TD Kotelnikov, OTT. I don't know what Reaper costs now.. maybe 100 dollars. The rest is all free.
Check out the OSC. https://sites.google.com/site/kvrosc/
Monthly contest made entirely with free stuff, other than a DAW and computer of course.

Reaper is $60 for users who won't use it for a living. For professionals it's 220 i think.
And i agree. There is so much AWESOME free stuff, that you don't have to spend anything on software at all. Even some great DAWs are free
The GAS is always greener on the other side!