What's going on timewise in this example?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm fairly new to orchestral composition and I'm just working out notes from various film scores I like. But the bassline 'loop' in this section of one of HZ's Dune pieces is 7.5 bars, is that normal for classical or film music?

Is it because I've got the timing wrong, it seems to be about 92 bpm and when I play this back iver the actual track the notes change at the right time.

(you have to click on the link (not the thumbnail) - but it will start at the bit I mean)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5rCIcH ... TimS.Lucas

Screenshot 2023-01-08 205137.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If you don't eat yer meat, you can't have any pudding. HOW CAN YOU HAVE ANY PUDDING IF YOU DON'T EAT YER MEAT!?

There are 26 slow quarter note or we can call these half note beats.
There is no strong downbeat#. So, it doesn’t meet your expectation of… if it’s 4 that’s 6 and 1/2 bars. It could be 2 bars of 13, 13 bars of whichever denomination, or that Zimmer didn’t give a fvck.*

A whole lot of music in the world doesn’t care to be in 4/4, or about even-numbered groups of bars (or bars, period).
*: Could well be that here the length of the *cue* determined where it ends, and that’s that. #: AFAIC call it 26/4.

jancivil wrote: Sun Jan 08, 2023 10:35 pm There are 26 slow quarter note or we can call these half note beats.
There is no strong downbeat#. So, it doesn’t meet your expectation of… if it’s 4 that’s 6 and 1/2 bars. It could be 2 bars of 13, 13 bars of whichever denomination, or that Zimmer didn’t give a fvck.*

A whole lot of music in the world doesn’t care to be in 4/4, or about even-numbered groups of bars (or bars, period).
*: Could well be that here the length of the *cue* determined where it ends, and that’s that. #: AFAIC call it 26/4.