Extinguished (Seismic Minimalist Obsolescence)

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I used EXT64 to put this piece of minimal ambience together. Reaktor5 and TassMan4 also feature on here. I made this one night last April, but only just found the time to upload it. Best listened to in poor or non-existent lighting situations, imho.

https://soundcloud.com/whatsisname/extinguished

Recorded/Mixed in EXT64beta1-mar23
Mastered in T-Racks 5

Devices and Utensils

Reaktor5
TassMan4
Spitfire LABS
kHs Gain
Aether
Equivocate
Satin
Linear Phase EQ
EQP-1A

DR - 12

Edit: 20240120 - I remixed this yesterday, lowering the noise levels in two modules within one instance of TassMan4, then lowered the volume level and re-EQ'd that instance. I also changed the EQ on the LABS instance, and then remastered the track.
Last edited by seismic1 on Sat Jan 20, 2024 12:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

Oooh, this is lovely! Nice 'voyage'.
I'm not a musician, but I've designed sounds that others use to make music. http://soundcloud.com/obsidiananvil

Listening in a suboptimal environment (a plane) but this is lovely. Definitely took me to a peaceful place. I haven’t thought of Tasman in a long time. I remember ages ago (over 20 years ago) a version used to be included in Sonar.

Listening to this I am picturing sitting on a high cliff watching clouds slowly float by at different speeds and heights in a peaceful blue sky. However, looking down into the chasm, there is fog and some kind of menace below. I decide it is safer to keep my eyes skyward. Since what I can't see, can't hurt me or can it? :-o

A rich, deceptively simple composition that expertly blends the carefully chosen sound sources. Holds up very well to repeated listenings.

(There is a particular rattling, scratchy sound (at 1:34, 2:06, 3:10, etc.) that I wish was a bit lower in the mix.)

Shabdahbriah wrote: Wed Jan 10, 2024 1:36 am Oooh, this is lovely! Nice 'voyage'.