Surge XT MPE sound design tutorials

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I have a new tutorial up:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXA8DNu8eRs

This one is aimed at people who'd like to make their own sounds but have never programmed a synth before. It establishes some useful building blocks and a starting point for future lessons.

I would appreciate any feedback; I'm still pretty new to making these and would like to improve :)

Here is the same video proxied through my Invidious instance:

https://invidious.franklyflawless.org/w ... XA8DNu8eRs

I will be using Surge XT for at least another six months, so this will be a useful resource to consider. My interest is in creating patches similar to "Solo Strings", but for other acoustic instruments. Thank you for sharing this Max.

Thanks.

The next one I'm planning will be a cello sound, which will probably get pretty close to solo strings. I'll review that patch and see if it has any tricks I've forgotten.

Great, I will provide feedback in this thread after I have allocated time and space for it.

Excellent, Max! I've just posted it on my site's "Surge XT" page, and also linked to it from the "LinnStrument Tech Tutorials" YouTube playlist. Thanks!

I also liked your performance at the beginning.

Thank you, Roger! You should hear the cello I'm working on for episode 2. In fact, I'll send it to you.

Yeah!

Okay, I have carefully watched the entire episode. I think it was generally well focused, paced, and structured. The episode itself is quite long, so perhaps reducing video length to 30 minutes or less and focusing on creating one patch per video instead of two would be more efficient long-term as a video series.