What is the best drum hardware "sequencer"

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

After clicking in drum notes in my DAW for many years I still feel that it often kills my vibe. I think it is time for me to get some hardware to make the beats. After looking at some vids on Youtube I am leaning towards something in the 808 workflow style. Sound is not my main priority since I have all the sounds I need and more in Battery and Groove Agent.

So the question is. What hardware has the most intuitive and "players oriented" step sequencer for drumming with midi integration? Berhinger RD-9 or RD-8 (do they have the same sequencer with just different sound?)? Or something else?

I am going to say something elektron before someone else does. IMHO the sequencer is great for drums but they aren't giving them away - if you don't need sounds wouldn't a keystep (pro?) be better - I have no experience of those, but they look good, have plenty of features and are not expensive.
Last edited by ericj23 on Fri Feb 23, 2024 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I believe every thread should devolve into character attacks and witch-burning. It really helps the discussion.

I have a beatstep and it is not good. You have to set each step individually to the corresponding note to match kick, snare,hat... and there is only one track. So it is very slow. Definitely not the fast jamming tool I am looking for. Not looked in detail at Elektron, but I have heard they have an "unusual workflow" , not sure if that means faster or slower in a "jamming" situation.

Push or Maschine