Adjusting "offset" and "time stretching" for Virtual Guitar instruments (But also in general)

Sampler and Sampling discussion (techniques, tips and tricks, etc.)
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey there.

I'm trying to find or create a "fast riffing" or solo guitar where I can program and play extremely fast and tight notes and I'm exploring different options and ideas. I've tried several virtual guitars and tried to tweak them but as I'm fairly new to all this audio/sample editing stuff it can be overwhelming to know what to tweak and when.

What I'm trying to do is to make the guitar almost like a percussive instrument to create fast rhythmic burst of palm muted "chuggs", but sometimes what happens is that either the sound becomes too muddy and the transient "hits"/"chuggs" gets lost and blurred together. Perhaps this could be because of the tone of the DI or the Distortion of the Amp Sim and I need to adjust EQ to control, cut out or enhance some frequencies? And if so are there specific frequencies that I should pay specific attention to?

OR perhaps the samples have too much initial "space" before the actual transiten "chugg" and therefore are not played because they're canceled out by the triggering of the next sample? Especially if the instrument is played "monophonically",if that is the correct term? What I mean is that the instrument can only play one note at a time.