Mcdsp Eq for long term use

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Effects Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hallo, I am new here, looking for opinion

Mcdsp 6050/6060 channel strip (has the most options), Filterbank (best workflow), or Active Eq (modern features : Dynamics, etc) if you have to pick one to work with for the next two years? I demoed them but even after 14 trial days I can't make clear decision. My heart lean to filterbank for its quick workflow and the detail I can get for low and high end. However, I worry that I have missed something really valuable about 6050/6060 and active eq beside the obvious they can do more.
I am a beginner so for me filter bank has faster learning curve and easy to work with, but if in the future my knowledge increase will I still favour the same thing? I feel like mixing is not just about job is done but way deeper like piece of artwork. I am a bit scared of complex plugins because too many choices can be good early on but tiring the next day. I don't know. help.

If you're a beginner I would recommend using whatever combination of EQ and compressor that gets you there faster and easier.

A mixture of TDR SlickEQ, Nova, Molotok, and Kotelnikov, plus Jon V's FirComp (all free) will probably work and sound better than 99% of paid options. The paid GE editions of all of the TDR plugs add some nice features too.

All of them sound incredible and are (mostly) easy to use. Heck, you could probably use those as your main channel strip for the rest of your life and be ok.

I think McDSP plugins are fantastic and underappreciated by many people. With all the countless plugin options avaliable to you, is there any particular reason why you've chosen to go with these plugins by McDSP?

I have used Filterbank for over 20 years and probably will use it for 20 more, if I'm still alive.