Best guitar for funk

A forum for discussion of all things guitar!
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I’m a new guitarist and am starting a funk project , any ideas for a guitar for funk

Mr Rodgers likes a Strat. Can't really argue with him on matters of funk...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlBg6kmwI80

While that perspex Strat is fine, I'd actually recommend a Telecaster.

But: a funky player can deliver with any axe, while a bad player still sounds like a turd with Niles HitMaker.
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

True, true, and I like the tele as well for it to be honest, but I'm just an indie rokk fumbler.

Indeed, Nile's is a Stratocaster and Prince was a Telecaster.. I think either (and as someone else said, a funky player can deliver on any ax), but for sure I would start with either (I tend to in theory prefer Strat for it, but in practice I find myself playing funkier with a Tele.. though when I am recording in my own studio since I don't own a strat or tele, I mostly use my Ibanez S-540 or Herman Li E-Gen (yes I know neither designed with this purpose in mind)).
rsp
Last edited by zvenx on Tue Apr 30, 2024 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sound sculptist

Music4damind wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 8:02 pm I’m a new guitarist and am starting a funk project , any ideas for a guitar for funk
Something quiet

Are the strats expensive ?

I honestly cant say i ever 'intentionally' played
anything funky. I would think, unless you are
naturally funky, maybe try bass. Funky bass
seems like it would be easier. heh

pekbro wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 9:09 pm I honestly cant say i ever 'intentionally' played
anything funky.
Good man, but i think you mean "I can honestly say I have never intentionally played anything funky'

And why would you...
Last edited by seafire on Tue Apr 30, 2024 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Music4damind wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2024 9:03 pm Are the strats expensive ?