Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New What is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for MuLab

Rate & Review MuLab Now!

10.00
Reviewed By jelboss36s on 20th December 2015
OS: Version: 7
Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Absolutely the best DAW I have ever used. It is user frendly, Modular/MIDI, and so far to date not one singe bug, flaw, crash, or problem of any kind. And what can I say..? it has unlimited undu & redu =)

What is the bottom line in audio? "That sound". Many DAWS, amps, amd audio gear work the same, but if you play guitar and want "that sound", you get a Marshall. This DAW has "that sound".

I have tried just about all the workstations out there, and in my opinion Mulab is hands down the best digital AUDIO WORKSTATION/AUDIO PRODUCTION software on the market today.

10.00
Reviewed By Michael L on 13th April 2015
OS: Version: 10.8.
Last edited by Michael L on 13th April 2015.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

In my experience, MuLab helps me stay focused on my musical ideas and keep in the flow. It is a DAW that responds quickly to ideas, like an instrument. For example, it takes only one second (true!) to click the MuLab program and begin making music using the pre-loaded Basic Synth. You can instantly sketch it out your idea, and then jump down the rabbit hole to do almost anything.

Today, I loaded one of my recorded samples, then picked the best LFOs to modulate its pitch and filter to bring it to life. I wanted to add echo but modulate 'only' the echo, with complex sine waves stacked in fifths, pitched down an octave, etc.... To do that, I just dragged an empty 'mux' module to one slot in a rack, connected the MuEcho to the Ring Mod Synth that contains an oscillator module with the above wave parameters, and mixed them with the Audio Balancer. This took only a minute to set up and I stay in the flowww.....

MuLab is full of Devices (subtractive, sample, granular, wavetable and drum synths, reverb and echo), with many instrument and effect Modules that you can easily modify, build and link. All the modules use the same design logic, so you can take a musical idea and make it happen quickly without losing track of your main idea. The user community (MuTools Forum) regularly designs and shares new synthesiser and effect modules, the most recent being a Triple Filter Trance Gate, and a Multi-Form (dual-oscillator/ wavetable/ granular/ sample) Synth. And the sound is very clear-- hugely important.

I switched to MuLab one year ago due to its great workflow and open design that doesn't constrain me to one way of working. MuLab includes entire demo projects in different musical styles that you can take apart to learn how others use MuLab. I found this a very useful way to learn! I use the OS X version, and it's quite stable as a program and as a VST host.

10.00
Reviewed By mgiambro on 1st February 2015
OS: Version: 7.
Last edited by mgiambro on 2nd February 2015.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

If you're looking for a DAW which is light, intuitive and powerful you should definitely give MuLab a try. I've used many different DAWS over the years and have found the problem with a lot of them is that they are bloated with cluttered interfaces, which for me makes them cumbersome to use. As someone who creates electronic music with the focus on MIDI work and sound design using vsts I wanted a DAW with good MIDI and piano roll, is light on CPU, provides a nice smooth workflow but is capable of complex sound processing, routing and automation tasks. Of the products I demoed, MuLab instantly stood out. The interface looks simple, but this is deceptive, but a deliberate feature of the application. If you require complexity, it's available in the form of the MUX engine which underlies the application, but is not in your face and a distraction. The MUX is similar to, but more flexible than Reasons Combinator. In the MUX you can combine MuLabs own modules, but also third party vsts. For example, I have a MUX which combines a multi-out Microtonic drum VST and MuLabs own MuDrum for sample playback, effectively creating my own custom drum machine and achieving the same result as a drum map would in Cubase or Sonar, but more user-friendly. You can also create your own synths and effects with the MUX. The possibilities are limitless. The MUX is also available as a VST plugin if you already have a DAW. Of course MuLab comes with it's own set of synths, samplers and effects also. Other features I like are the dockable windows, drag and drop and nice touches like the ability to clear out unused audio files within the projects audio directory from within the daw. MuLab also has something called the 'Sequence Pool'. The idea behind this is that you can have two MuLab sessions open and use one as a kind of scratchpad for ideas. Clips created there are stored as sequences which are available in the other session in which you can build the track. A very nice touch and more evidence some serious thought has gone into this product. I've noticed that sound quality of daws differs. MuLabs is as good as any I have heard. Also, the interface is nice and responsive and not laggy, like some I have tried.

From using it for a few months now, if I've found a limitation, and it's only a minor gripe, it's that the effects don't have graphical visual feedback which can be useful for mixing/mastering. However, the obvious solution to this is to use third party plugins and there are plenty of good free ones if you don't have them already.

For the €69.00 for the full version, it's an absolute bargain. In terms of value, I'd compare it to Reaper, but where Reaper is more targeted at working with audio, MuLab is great for MIDI work and sound design, making it a great fit for what I was looking for. When it comes to software, I have learned that the higher the cost does not mean that the quality of the product will be better and the likes of MuLab/Reaper are testament to this.

Finally, I have to mention the support MuTools provides is second to none. Jo, the man behind MuTools is always on the Kvr MuTools forum and eager to help and answer questions.

10.00
Reviewed By tommyzai on 28th April 2013
OS: Version: 6.
Last edited by tommyzai on 11th March 2015.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

Attention: I would like to share my initial impressions about a cool DAW that deserves much more attention.

MuLab from MuTools is a refreshing application that turns a Mac or PC into a "modular music production system." It does all the basic DAW things: records, plays, edits, masters, etc. It has an efficient, elegant interface and flexible routing, which helps to create an inspiring workflow. The word INTUITIVE comes to mind. The main screen contains most of the important stuff. It's not cluttered with tiny knobs, sliders, small print, drop down menus and so on. I read an online ad claiming this application to be "easy, flexible, and high quality." After spending several hours demoing it, I have to agree! It's EASY, yet powerful; FLEXIBLE, yet solid; HI QUALITY, yet CPU efficient. It loads fast, probably because there is no automatic VST scan upon launch. You must manually select and scan plugins, but I don't see this as a negative.

PROS

• Simple, fast download and install (download, unzip, and launch)
• Self contained and lightweight footprint
• Interface is nice to look at
• Smooth workflow
• Important stuff it easily accessible without hundreds of menus and pages
• Great browser
• High quality, flexible, and powerful modular routing system
• Strong signal-flow control
• CPU efficient
• Streamline and simple on surface
• Deep when needed
• Modular system is highly addictive (is this a pro or con?)
• Great sound engine
• Audio (WAV+AIFF) drag n' drop
• MIDI drag n' drop
• Easy MIDI control and editing
• Event record punching
• Good automation
• ReWire (no problem linking with Numerology Pro)
• Easy audio editing
• Easy MIDI value editing and sweet piano roll feature
• Plug and play with most controllers
• MUX seems like a powerful tool to build and manipulate sounds, but haven't gotten to it yet
• Send and multi-out management is excellent
• Big fan base/user support
• Responsive developer
• Frequent updates.

CONS

• Time-stretching is a common feature-request. I usually adjust sample lengths manually, but a little help would be nice. I contacted developer regarding this feature and it is on the future update "wish list"
• Audio punch in/punch out.

The Pros clearly overshadow the Cons. MuLab has so many fantastic specifications and features, but most importantly — it's fun to use and sounds great! At last, there is a workstation that inspires musicians to make music and doesn't get in the way of creativity. You won't get lost in endless menus and pages; however, if you need to go deeper, it's all there for you! To quote another user, "There's a hell of a lot more going on under the hood than first meets the eye." MuLab is an amazing audio tool that is being offered at a bargain price. I highly recommend MuLab to any electronic musician looking to write, record, and master his/her music, whether it is old school, new school, or used in school, like me. Tommy Zai gives MuLab two thumbs up. Thank you MuTools for creating such a super music production system.

Disclaimer: I have no affiliation with MuTools, but I tend to write like I'm in marketing and doing an ad. I sincerely dig what MuTools created.

Update on Update: Version 6 includes many excellent improvements and additions. My favorites are the MIDI enhancements, i.e., :

  • Import and export function for sequences.
  • Dropping a MIDI file directly on the browser while it's sequencing.
  • Drag-drop a MIDI file onto the sequence editor that will merge the MIDI file.

I also dig the on/off switch that was added to the sequence player module.

10.00
Reviewed By dakkra on 31st December 2012
OS: Version: 5.0.41.
Last edited by dakkra on 26th March 2013.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

My favorite DAW! It has great audio quality when you put your hand into it. The MUX wich has been integrated in Mulab gives you an amazing amount if flexibility. It works on the spirit of building our sound. You can create anything thing from an analog lead to a digital bass. Mulab handles vsts' very well. Haven't had any issues other than dealing with vsts that never worked. You can also use the vsts in the MUX giving it a whole new sound source. MIDI is also easily managed.

Pros: Easy to navigate interface, easy to make sounds, and superb audio quality, user support is amazing.

Cons: The MUX needs some more modules (easily worked around with vst).

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Discussion: Active

Discussion

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

3 October 2014 at 2:10pmBlackWinny

It's a question to ask not here but on the Mulab forums, there:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=79

1 February 2015 at 9:42pmliquidsound

A formidable DAW I agree.

I own most of them but I use MuLab all the time.

Modularity: what Live is achieving with M4L and Bitwig "will try" with v2 has been in MuLab for years! Way ahead in the Modular-DAW world race.

4 January 2017 at 5:56pmDjMarto

I have a problem: every time that i export the composition as an audio file the file that i find in the folder has some interferences or it flickers about every 30 seconds, plz help me.

4 January 2017 at 8:15pmBlackWinny

"...every 30 seconds..."

A little birdie tells me that you haven't entered your serial code, have you ?

Please log in to join the discussion

MuLab

Average user rating of 10.00 from 5 reviews

MUTOOLS
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
90 people have added MuLab to 24 My KVR groups 137 times
+19 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 82  61  82

30-Day: 101; 7-Day: 89; Yesterday: 234

Advertisements