Using z3ta+ as FX plugin doesn't work... why?

Discussion about: tracktion.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

If I use the z3ta+ FX plugin in Tracktion, it doesn't work properly: The sound gets "blocked" by the VSTfx (with Audio Input Thru on). It only gets through if I click on the keyboard "ribbon" on the z3ta GUI. And since I can't just draw a steady note which would "open" the FX in the MIDI editor (because the FX doesn't receive the MIDI notes), I don't see a solution...

I'm new to this whole VST stuff... and I don't really like it. I love the simplicity and power of Reason. Although z3ta blows the Subtractor away... :?

any tips? *bump*

I do not have a solution for your problem but I can confirm z3ta+ works fine here with Tracktion and I can add as many FX plugs to it as I wish.

Your question is a little confusing.
Can you rephrase it?

You are using z3ta+ VSTi and you are triggering it with an outboard midi keyboard correct?
This is working fine as I understand. correct?

You only have problems if you try to insert a second plug after the z3ta+ in the track. correct?

Are you by any chance putting the VST effect before z3ta+ ? (if you are don't, you can not use sound effects on midi notes)

:?:

hmm I think hes trying to use the FX version of z3ta...

that is.. using z3ta as an fx unit instead of a synthesizer..

I have no idea how to get it working with tracktion though.. :P

I only ever tried it once (I'm not that bothered about z3ta's effects). It caused a huge audio spike and f**ked my hearing for 10 minutes. I never tried it again.

I'm not sure the fx gets on well with Tracktion TBH.

You could use a rack to route midi to the fx plug, though that'd be a little ugly.
Someone shot the food. Remember: don't shoot food!

Hi guys. Same thing had me baffled till I read up and discovered how it works:

By memory: (which is dodgy sometimes, so this may or may not be correct...)