Simplifying Music?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Dunno if this is the right forum.

As a composer I always thought I had decent ideas. I always thought my tastes in music informed at least the pretence of some original content. But as I look back over what i've written since getting into music production (somewhat) seriously I find that I tend to overcook the songs.

Part of this is a love of prog rock which is historically excessive, and that's why I love it. But I also love synthwave and early eighties electronica (mainly Exit by Tangerine Dream and that general period, with Johannes Schmoelling). Also Kraftwerk who are the epitome of elegant simplicity. Yet I just cannot emulate that degree of simplicity, it makes me think my music is lacking.

I've been writing stuff with, on average, ten different parts. These are not specifically layered textures to build a single sound, they are independent parts. I do this because I think the music is otherwise lacking. But then I listen to stuff I like that's way simpler and I wonder why I can't do that.

Is this true for anyone else? I mean, Tour De France by Kraftwerk is the simplest thing, yet so evocative and original. Oxygene 4 (or is it 5?), Kiew Mission by TDream (probably not the best example as there is quite a lot happening texturally). Even the late great Vangelis, hugely evocative and very in the moment, not massively laden down with unnecessary parts. I could go on.

Any tips for writing or arranging more simply without compromising the work? Thanks.

RIP Vangelis

ghostwhistler wrote: Sat May 21, 2022 9:25 pm Dunno if this is the right forum.
Maybe the theory-forum would be the right place. :wink: