Writing a VST plugin Host program - a video tutorial

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I made some videos about how to write a VST host in C++ (and in part in C#). If interested see here:
https://www.youtube.com/@audio_programming101/playlists
I call them tutorials and I took a "from the ground up" approach. Source code available.
Since I am a self taught audio programmer, not an expert, I would welcome constructive criticism from experts on this forum.

You are probably the first to make videos about making a host, so that will probably help someone. But do you have a goal? Or what do you want, and what are your personal interests in this?

And as you use the VSTSDK2.4 this is probably on the educational side. I good idea would be to change this in further videos, so people can actually use it for more than education.

There are several options for not using their stuff for making VST2 plugs and hosts. Right now it's a dead end. But the VST2 ABI will live on forever as it can't be stopped.

xos thanks for your comment. These videos grew out of a hobby project; I was simply curious about how plugins work and how I could manipulate them. I am also a control freak and that is why I decided not to use any frameworks. You are right that VST v.2.4. is no longer supported by Steinberg and they won't authorise VST2 plugins, so VST2 *plugin* development would be a waste of time. But building a *host* could still make sense, as there are still many VST2 plugins in circulation and fun to work with. (e.g. the Yamaha S-YXG50 plugin). At any rate, the purpose of these videos, I guess, is to pass on knowledge and let gain experience with the basics before tackling more advanced and more up-to-date tasks. Commercial gain in is entirely out of scope for me. The emphasis is on having fun. If time permits I will explore topics that have more relevance today.