Let's show Waveform some love.

Discussion about: tracktion.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi all

With W13 due out soon, I wanted to share some praise for the product and hopefully encourage any curious new users who might visit this forum to try it out.

I'm a hobbyist / casual producer, and have bashed out a few tunes I am quite pleased with. Give me a VST, and a reverb, and I'm a happy boy. I'm also a Linux fan, and have recently transitioned (not for the first time) from Windows to Kubuntu. This time I'm convinced I'm not going back.

I also have more money than musical talent (and I'm not rich), so have licenses for FL Studio, Bitwig Studio, Reaper, Studio One, Mixbus 32C, as well as Waveform Pro. All except the Windows-only FL Studio are installed on my Kubuntu workstation. I also have some Windows VSTs installed via yabridge but otherwise I like native Linux VSTs, so that's TAL, U-He, Vital, Airwindows, etc.

Anyway, to the point:

Having tried out a lot of DAWs, for me Waveform is still my favorite because:

1. The Pro version is reasonably priced. And the free version is amazing value!
2. You get as lot of features included (i.e. effects, and synths).
3. I don't care what people say about how good FL Studio's MIDI editor is, Waveform's just as good. Especially when you factor in the unique music theory tools such as the Chord Track, Chord Companion, and Pattern Generator. These really are fantastic if you're not an expert in music theory.
4. The workflow, once you get familiar, is really efficient. Nice left-to-right layout, and things like the MIDI editor are neatly pinned and easy to move in and out of view.
5. The plugin sandbox is a life saver, especially on Linux where some plugins do crash more often than Windows.
6. Thank-you Tracktion for still supporting Linux. Any vendor doing this needs encouragement in my opinion.