Login / Register  0 items | $0.00New @ What is KVR? Submit News Advertise

User Reviews by KVR Members for DUNE 2

Rate & Review DUNE 2 Now!

Reviewed By Yorrrrrr on 22nd May 2014
OS: Version: 8.1.
Last edited by Yorrrrrr on 10th March 2015.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? YesNo

DUNE 2: Oh my God. Features such as...

1. The oscillators. 2 stacks of up to 32 voices + 1 Sub Osc/Noise per stack. Very high quality oscillators, on all the frequency ranges. Almost non existent aliasing on the VA, but none on the wavetables. Deep low end, excellent high end. Very balanced sound.

2. The detuning options, with various modes (linear, non linear, random, major and minor chords, etc..), detuning amounts, etc. Detuning sounds good and can be tailored for taste and need in a variety of ways.

3. Virtual Analogue + Wavetables + Frequency Modulation synthesis. In addition to the usual VA, iIt comes with an excellent set of wavetables, and you can find more in KVR or Synapse forums. But you can even load your own wavetables with the proper format. You can use with the free Audio Term tool to create more Wavetables to load them on the synth, or wait for the official Synapse's own tool for creating wavetables for DUNE 2. This means the synth will just grow more and more on possibilities, as more wavetables become available. The FM capabilities are basic, though. Nothing super fancy but just enough.

4. Amazing UNISON implementation with full control over the voices. The unison engine allows to have up to 8 synths stacked, up to 8 different sounds working together, each part with its own filters, envelopes, etc., effectively turning DUNE 2 into a multi-part synthesizer. So you can have 8 synths in one, 8 independent sounds, and you can even detune and spread them (like they were simple oscillators). Crazy. The unison in Dune 2 also mean that there can be up to 8320 oscillators working simultaneously at full 16x polyphony.

5. Various different filters, including clean multimode ones, plus Sallen Key, Transistor Ladder, Acid Lowpass, and even the filters from DUNE 1; Zero delay feedback filter design, to mimic analog designs; It also comes with some special "filters effects" (which include various distortion types, comb, notch, etc.), pre or post filter, to spice up filter sound in various ways. All filters sound beautiful and different. Some of them have saturation (Ladder). It's possible to make them scream with the Drive parameter, which acts as some kind of a mix knob between the resonant part and the not resonant. Very flexible filter design.

6. Very nice set of effects. They all sound great, with the reverb being the best I've heard inside a software synth. There are 2x effect buses, which allow to use different set of effects for different unison voices. The synth allows to change the order of the effects processing too.

7. 4 multiple point graphical envelopes (MSEGs) included. They allow for things like custom shape envelopes and curves, custom shape LFOs (in 'loop' mode), gating effects, custom arpeggiator, and crazy modulation of nearly every parameter on the synth. The normal knob envelopes for the filter and amplitude are snappy, but if not snappy enough, the MSEGs come to the rescue.

8. Extensive modulation matrix of 32 slots and so many sources and destinations. Very nice set of sources and destinations. The mod matrix even allows to modulate its own parameters, or set the modulation of parameters to apply just for some of the unison voices. The "Const" modulation source has so many uses, like offseting a parameter value for a specific unison voice, or to set parameters only available on the matrix, and more.

9. Excellent arpeggiator, with MIDI import, in addition to the usual step sequencing. It can even be used as a yet another modulation source (note and velocity).

10. Oscillator synchronization.

11. Ring modulation.

12. Pulse Width Modulation.

13. Audio rate modulation. It allows, for example, the output of an oscillator to modulate any parameter.

14. Full multithreading support. The CPU usage is low for the excellent sonic quality you get. Sylenth1's level of CPU optimization, while capable of doing so much more.

15. Simple, easy to use, functional, clear, uncluttered, good looking, inviting GUI. The color of the main panel can be changed. You can create and use third party skins as of version 2.2.

16. And more....

...make this a masterpiece of a synth.

It is a modulation beast. Inmensely powerful, flexible, quick and easy to use. This is pads and sequences heaven. But it can do everything under the sun with flying colors and it's very hard to make it sound bad. But at the same time it's so easy and fast to work with. It's flexible, versatile, quick to dial in. Bread-and-butter kind of synth. Not only it is quick and easy because it can go incredibly deep. It is a sound designers plugin too.

Beautiful sounding. Clean, rich, lush, expensive, musical are all words I would use to describe its sound. It has its own character too.

Excellent patches included, and more are coming. Amazing sound designers behind. Check the patches made by Rob Lee (RL), Kevin Schroder (KS) and Ed Ten Eyck (EDT), for example. They really show the capabilities of this fantastic software synth.

Not enough words to describe this incredible synthesizer plugin. I hope it sells well and gets all the recognition it deserves in then music production community. It's already getting raving reviews everywhere that confirm what I say.


Click here to read all 3 reviews

Discussion: Active


6 May 2014 at 11:08amPUSHA

Synapse Audio you did a killer job on Dune 2. Sound, Look and Function are superb and I would love to get the full version.

12 May 2014 at 8:12pmjendakub

I am really impressed with DUNE2. The direct unison voice editing is huge improvement now allowing to take advantage of the unison engine fully.

14 May 2014 at 9:07pmYorrrrrr

I cannot express how much love I got for this amazing synth.

23 May 2014 at 6:02ammiaousse


For me it's not just an version 2. It's a whole new synth, and a good one.

14 July 2014 at 11:42pmlsc9x

Agreed! DUNE II is now in my top 3 favorite VST synths list along with Blue II and Sylenth1. It has also fixed some serious limitations with DUNE and made the whole interface much better. It's really easy to use, it sounds GREAT (think hardware), and the patch save/load system is freaking genius! Each patch is it's own file, and the VST automatically numbers them when loading from a folder, so theoretically a single patch folder can contain up to 999 sounds. Even if it's limited to only 128, that's still simple to expand by creating another folder and starting to drop sounds into it. This also makes backing up patches very easy. Highly recommend this one!!.

28 July 2014 at 10:01pmfoster911

Great job but Image-Line's Synths are much better than this. I think the only advantage of Dune 2 is its Arpeggiator supporting Chords via MIDI import. I have used lots of synths till now but the capability of micro tuning provided by Image-Line's Sytrus and Harmor synths and also their fast loading is fascinating that I have not seen in other synths like Dune 2. The other facility of Dune 2 is its supporting of 8 parallel channel of oscillators that is included in LuSH-101 too. After all I prefer Sytrus and Harmer. They are my goddesses.

8 August 2014 at 8:00ampeteman

I bought Dune2 yesterday and I gotta say it sounds absolutely fantastic! Very versatile synth and the internal effects (especially the reverb!) sounds awesome.

27 August 2014 at 5:49pmclipnotic

Dune 1 I tested and tested again over the years but didn't like it. Dune 2 I'm only testing since one week and still love it.

- great user interface
- great synthese features
- great effects
- great MSEG envelopes
- great OSCs
- better sound quality
- better filter quality.

OK, the LFOs and the standard envelopes could react a little bit finer and noble and the stepsequencer could have 64 or better 128 steps and the option to save own presets, too (!) ... but this are only little wishes, this synth still is wonderful.

Thank you, great work.

17 November 2014 at 11:43amLogictree

I agree with all the positive reviews. I've tried many synths all those years. the biggest problem for me is that all those synths are all boring to use. Imagine if you have an acoustic piano, which has only one sound - the piano sound, but you can play it all day without boredom. Any synth I've tried always has hundred sounds, but almost none of them has the power that could make me play whole night. So what really happens is that I would spend few hours just browsing presets, every preset for few seconds. Dune 2 did something really different, the presets are amazing. Not all of them is my kind of sound, but still there are many of them have the power that could make me play for at least one hour before I got bored. It is definitely something different. The soft synths are no compare to acoustic instruments so far, no matter how many companies already have been trying for all those years. But Dune 2 is very close to be one. That is something really incredible.

6 December 2014 at 11:41amDJ Warmonger

Next time someone asks me "how to make it sound big", I will answer Dune 2. Sick unison for dummies, just out of the box. Also, it has great syntheis possibilities despite simplicity. I think I'll cut my wishlist just to fit Dune in.

14 January 2015 at 8:07pmbrainpacemaker

Would love to see visual representations of oscillator, ADSR and LFO's etc but sounds great.

13 June 2015 at 4:12amaaron aardvark

I was able to put Ghost Dog and Cubrick Soundset soundbanks into Dune 2 folders. Wasn't able to figure out the other two. Haven't tried them yet, but thank you for the patches, I'll try them in the near future.

Please log in to join the discussion


Average user rating of 9.67 from 3 reviews

Synapse Audio
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
143 people have added DUNE 2 to 10 My KVR groups 212 times
+4 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 5  5  5

30-Day: 5; 7-Day: 42; Yesterday: 45

What's New @ KVR Audio
New WAVES Plugin Black Friday Giveaway.by ghettosynth @ 6:24 in EffectsThe 2015 Black Friday / Cyber Monday sales threadby George @ 6:22 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)cupwise Nebula release- Flucti-Mew Tube Compressor/Limiterby Cupwise @ 6:21 in EffectsGhostwave Audio Black Friday sale - up to 33% offby Karten @ 6:20 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)FS-FT: Slate Trigger 2 - Flux IRCAM Verb - CHEAP!!!by freewind1974 @ 6:19 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)Do I need an interface?by do_androids_dream @ 6:18 in Hardware (Instruments and Effects)New free rave synth hosted by wavosaurby Chris@Feeltune @ 6:16 in InstrumentsFS: Plugin Alliance, Voxengo, AAS,by ckam03 @ 6:15 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)Are we at the point where reverb plugins have completely "peaked".by do_androids_dream @ 6:14 in EffectsNovation Bass Station plugin on the new Beat mag editionby chk071 @ 6:11 in InstrumentsToughts on Maxxbassby ckam03 @ 6:10 in EffectsWestgatesounds.net Black Friday/Xmas/Year End sale - 50% discountsby dnekm @ 6:10 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)Sytrus, Harmor, FABFILTER Pro Q+C, XILS 4 BLACK FRIDAY PRICE DROP!by Apostate @ 6:09 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)True Trance BLACK FRIDAY 50-70% on everything! Until November 30!by NatLife @ 6:03 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)WTB: Audio Damage Discord3, u-he Satin, PSP Vintage Warmerby citizenkeith @ 6:02 in Market Place (Buy / Sell / Special Offers)View All Latest Posts