Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Junox²

Rate & Review Junox² Now!

Reviewed By kalkin [read all by] on 21st January 2003
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows.
Last edited by kalkin on 22nd January 2003.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth is great for quick and easy techno sounds, but that's about it. You just can't go wrong for $40 though, and I heard a while ago (hopefully it's still true) that the Junox3 that is in development will be a free upgrade no matter when you purchased 2 (though 3 will cost about $20 more). So if you make any sort of techno do yourself a favor and get this now.

The only problem I have with it is that it seems to have higher cpu ussage than most other synths (especialy for how simple it seems).
Reviewed By womble42 [read all by] on 9th September 2002
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I agree with all previous reviews on this puppy -
It has remarkbly good sound quality at such a cheap price. The interface looks deceptively simple, possibly leading you to think that there isnt much to this synth - but one listen to the presets provided (plus there are some good ones on the net) and you realise that there is a lot to it.

I would suggest that this for the more harder dance fans out there - as said before, great hoover sounds, phatt bases and good leads. I can also see this being used for some good incidental fx's as well.

Glad to see that reFX reacted quickly to the Acid 4.0 problem and it now works fine in my software.

Top marks - Great Sound/Great Value and its easy enough for plebs like me to program!!!!
Reviewed By kritikon [read all by] on 9th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I have to admit I've only tried the demo version (played with it for 2 days), but I will be ordering the full version asap.

JunoX can't do everything, but if you want to do any hardhouse, trance, anthemic dance tracks then this synth is an absolute MUST have.

It has a very full and fat sound - perfect for stabs and hard edged pads, or as lead lines and a good range of basses (although the lower to upper mids are it's real strong point). It has an amazing set of filters on it - it can be very versatile with some careful tweaking to pull out some of the fatness. The formant filters are great for special FX, and the specials are huge, or you can do basic boingy sounds if you want. This synth is what the Alpha Juno should have been (but Roland cocked it up with lack of filters(s)).

I use a Juno 106, Alpha Juno and 202 amongst others, and the JunoX honestly beats these (with maybe the exception of the 202 for acidy subs). Junos are sought after and well used, but JunoX can do far greater ranges of sounds, and generally has an awful lot more power to it.

My only complaints are the LFO seems to not do too much, and the filter loses alot down in the basses - but JunoX isn't really a bass synth, and it more than makes up for that by the sheer power of the mids.

If you're into presets, it would take alot of time to get bored with these, and if you're into programming, it will repay your efforts many times over - and it's well laid out - you don't need a manual at all. Another VSTi that makes me play for pleasure.

$30 !? If that's still the price, it's a bargain - my wallet is out already.

Not a do-it-all synth, but essential for dance music in most forms. It is one of the most analogue sounding VSTis I've heard so far, and I will use it in preference to most of my hardware synths, including most of the collectable ones. It's so good, you need good Eq - simply to take out some of the fatness for a balanced mix.

Technoheads can't go wrong with it.
Reviewed By Rabid [read all by] on 7th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows.
Last edited by Rabid on 12th November 2002.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I really like this little synth and I have recommended it to a few people. I would not want it as an only synth but for the price it is a great value and addition to my collection. It is not a “do everything” but that is not what I was after. The JunoX2 does have a unique sound and the Formant, Digital and Comb oscillators are great. While many other VSTi’s have affects sections the JunoX2 does not need effects to sound good. I also like the Randomize function and it is easy to tweak what ever pops up into a new pad.

I do have one big complaint. The pitch bend setting is hardwired, or programmed, at one octave. I am used to a 1 step range for pitch bend and the 1 octave setting makes this VSTi almost useless for leads. I would love to see this plus volume per oscillator added to the next version.

I run JunoX2 within Sonar II with DirectiXer 2 with no problems. It is very stable. I give this soft synth a Must Buy.

Reviewed By 11011011 [read all by] on 3rd June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This thing runs a little hot, but makes an excellent lead for dance/trance/industrial tracks. I also use it as a rhythmn compliment to other lead synths in softer tunes. The presets are all very good -- there are too many standouts to mention!

You will need to wrangle this thing in with your eq, and probably throw in some compression for good measure. I can't fault it for running this way, that's how it was designed.

The sound quality is not top notch, but I don't think that detracts from its purpose in life.

It is *incredibly* easy to mess with presets and make your own sounds. The almost draw-bar style sliders invite you to play around. I almost never come up with a sound that I can't use.

This synth has improved since 1.0. Most notable is less CPU usage, and tons more presets. If you only did a 1.0 or 1.1 demo and moved on, grab 1.4 and give it another go.

Bottom line: This is a loud lead synth. You will find it hard to make it play nicely in the background or with any subtlety. It's a prima donna -- but then, what else would you expect from a lead? For the tiny price tag, you can't get a better dance/trance/industrial lead synth.
Reviewed By Tancos [read all by] on 7th May 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth has a strong, distinctive sound. The sonorities are generally harsh and abrasive, aggressive and penetrating rather than smooth and sweet. It's easy to tweak. The documentation covers only the basics, but that's all you need. It uses a lot of cpu; if your machine is more than a year or two old you'll probably want to reduce the polyphony.

Despite its virtues, though, I've only used it in one tune since it was ported to the Mac. It's just a little too harsh to my ears. If your tastes are different, you might find it useful.
Reviewed By bajongo [read all by] on 28th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Fat, fast, furious, it has an own character. I like this synth. At 44 kHz it sounds aggressive and at 96kHz it puts on an expensive coat and starts sounding smooooooooth..... I like the filters. Especially the Moog one.
Very nice! Few features but it's a specialized synth and therfor I like the limited feature set though my choices would have been different. Quite versatile for the few sliders.

This thingy can make some serious noise! Sound cuts through some mix. Sounds really good. Yeah.

Heavy on CPU but only a few top notch synths are light on CPU...
Reviewed By pietro [read all by] on 28th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Harsh,sharp,fat,incisive sounds and a great charachter
make so distinctive this sinth:It' a pity that there
isn't a portamento function to increase it's value!
Reviewed By ppgwave [read all by] on 17th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Fantastic. A gritty, aggressive synth that is 10 times harder than my old MKS50 or Juno 106 ever were. For the price, there can be no comparison.

This synth cuts through any mix, and occupies a great sonic space. the low end is a bit lacking, but it makes up for it in mids and highs. And that way it doesn't muddy up the mix.

Michael and Feilei have been great about releasing fixes as needed, though I've never had a problem.

For the cost of two large Pizzas, there is NO better use of your money than this plugin. Stop thinking - GET IT.
Reviewed By eric144 [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I have to admit that I think this thing is completely wonderful. I am sure it could be used for almost every major sound in my type of music (melodic/euphoric) trance. The hoover sound is a bonus.

I have an MKS-7 which is a slightly restricted Juno 106 in a rack. It doesn't make noises as powerful as this Vsti, not even close.
Reviewed By exponent [read all by] on 20th March 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by exponent on 5th June 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Overall this fills a nice void. There arent many other instruments that have the same sound charactor or specific programming possibilities this has. At the same time, it's somewhat of a workhorse.

It may seem one-dimensional at first but many types of possible voices are hiding behind the simple interface.
Support has been good, with all major and most minor issues cleared up pretty fast.

It has good oscillator tone, and a pretty dynamic multi-mode filter. The differant modulation oscillator types such as comb, digital wavetable, voice, sync, fm etc really are what make this synth stand out so much and have such a wide range. For the price with the features it's a must-have if you like the demo.
A top synth.
Reviewed By alex1206 [read all by] on 20th March 2002
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Its good....very good!!

....and yes, it has quite a low CPU usage!! :)

The GUI looks nice (nice colour, easy to program sounds in an instant, choice of keys or no keys). However, I find that the GUI takes a while to redraw itself when called up in display, when flipping between keys and no keys, and when changing patches.

The synth sounds gorgeous (phat as phuck!)...and a is really good for making classic dance music/techno sounds.

The presets were good before, but now they just got better with the release of a free bank of sounds from ReFX (nice one guys!!). It is nice to see developers provide users with bank updates as well as regular program updates (bug fixes and additions).

This synth will give you hours of fun and is well worth the small amount of money that ReFX ask. I'm glad I have this one in my virtual rack!

The manuals good and so is the support. Support is handled on this very web-site in the forum. ReFX always seem to respond to your users comments!

So, basically a big thumbs up...go get it!!

Reviewed By DHS [read all by] on 2nd March 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is the ultimate weapon for every techno/trance musician.
The sound is the fattest you can ever find anywhere. Expecially suitable for leads sounds.

just make sure to test the demo, you'll love it.
Reviewed By emef [read all by] on 2nd March 2002
Version reviewed: full on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
i just got the full version, courtesy of my girlfriends credit card......thanks chantal.
what a synth!!!!
huge sounds straight out of the box so to speak.
lovely searing leads for electro and evil stabs and efx for my techno trax.
just a top top synth for a killer price.
the filters sound great, some are really lush and some are harsh as fuck(in the good way) and loads of mad oscillator types for really crazy sound manipulation.
full cc control is great too
what is the pro version and will it include portomento cos that seems to be the only thing missing........but it sounds so great anyway, i`m not complaining..........cheers michael/reFx

Latest 14 reviews from a total of 14

Discussion: Active


Please log in to join the discussion


Average user rating of 4.43 from 14 reviews

 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
40 people have added Junox² to 5 My KVR groups 43 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 2255  1498  2146

30-Day: 2040; 7-Day: 2124; Yesterday: 3213