Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Emerald Tablet

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Omission [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 10th July 2018
Version reviewed: 10 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Smart one trick pony

Its is a gater and there are quite a few gaters.

What is cool about this one is the step length and the speed.

Does "click" a bit so a better attack setting would make it even cooler.

Comes with 14 presets of which i find the probability rhytms the coolest

Thanks for this free plugin.

OverDubber 2 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 21st September 2016
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Its brilliant but dont take my word for it.

On a scale from 1 to 10? 11.

Why? Because.

Remco.

Satyr [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 5th March 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Put on your starscaped glasses and your neon coloured suit
Its time to rattle roll and funk the night away with SATYR
This beauty is the cream of the crop when it comes to simulation of crackling transistors in a old lo fi raw synth
I managed to squeeze out some of the funkiest sounds, and don't ask me how I did it because this beast is over packed with features.
Let me sum them up for you audiofreakz out here

3 mainsectionz : oscillators / envelopes / modulators

each section comes with its own features, for the oscillators o.c. all features to control these two great oscillators.
you can widen or narrow the field you can fine detune or rough detune the sound add depth / ring modulation / FM soften
set an internal clock bpm and use pitch / portamento

for the envelopes all the settings you possibly need to make the sound you have in mind ... attack / decay / release / velocity sensibility / etcetera. first for volume / amplitude and 2 other envelope sections with the same features as the first with the difference they are freely assignable for the purpose you have in mind for them.

In the modulation section we find the filters with lfo and resonance as most important (to me ) and further on freq cut off band filters and some features I haven't mastered yet because I lack time ;)

However .. this is one of the most flexible monophonic (4 voices polyphonic) synths that is very usefull for lead synth sounds

Use it.
Crystal [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 19th February 2003
Version reviewed: 2.21 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Howdy ... It's been a while since I did a review
but on this one I simply am under an obligation since they gave this (worth many dollars) one for free to me !
pro`s :

* easy programmable interface
* the possibility to draw envelopes ! (yep like adaptive synth but better)
* Its modular
* drawable frequency modulation
* tempo sync for delay and filters and modulators
* band splitter
* an astonishing row of effects

must I go on ? I could name a hundred uses for this beast and it would still be a thin review for
this multi-purpose mega cool work of art.
boundless possibilities for the use of this ... ranging from rhythmic effects to spread out pads
any self appreciating / respecting computer artist / vsti musician should have this !

Remco
Vivaldi [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 3rd May 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0? on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Get ready for lift of

This plugin creates very odd test-tone like sounds
Use it for electro tunes or other space like futuristic creations.

overall rating a 7 ++

Electric Cowboy 3000 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 18th April 2002
Version reviewed: ? on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
After a couple of good reviews from my hand a critical one. Many have tried to simulate the sound of guitar strings, and I have heard some nice sounds ... I have a beautiful nylon string on my kurzweil k2500s for instance. So one can make a guitar sound.

I normally hail everything Toby bear makes
As for this thing ... sorry Toby ... but its def. not a guitar strings sound. I tried it before when it was in a very early stadium ( the gui wasn’t there and I had clicks in the attack) I must say it developed very well from there on ..Maybe one day it will be a fantastic guitar simulation. You get my blessings :-)

I do give you credit for always being very creative in your interfaces and stuff! Therefore the simple and intuitive (as always in Toby bear plugins) interface gets a 10 from me.

Anyway ... it’s not a good guitar sound ... but it’s a sound! And maybe one can use it for something else
..It is a stable plugin and I hear no clipping in the sound or other strange side effects. It is a free plugin and all I can say is try it out!
Crazy Diamonds [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 16th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Is it an organ ? or is it a string pad ?
NO ... it is an organ string pad.

This plugin comes with some nice pads
I find them good to use for sinister dark horror like sounds or new wave music

For a free plugin it offers a lot
check out the milk section ... some creamy buttons to make a very smooth pad.

The cpu usage on my PIII 100mhz is not very high

overall a good plugin that is worth the download.

EVP73 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 15th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 ? on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Ok not a very good rating ...but that could change if they make a second version
Is sounds a bit digital and clean
It surely looks very kewl

The early Rhodes had no output
It was recorded over microphone and was often distorted through a microphone ... therefor the hard sounds sounded grainy and the soft sounds misty ... when you listen to the old recordings the sound sings (you now in a way a detuned string would do) ... that is because they used tape for recordings... the distortion combined with the singing gave it a mistical sound.

They did the distortion part very well on the B4 but it seems they forgot about it in the evp73.
They probably did the distortion for the b4 because they new it had a lesley speaker that wasn`t connected to an output so the mic overdrive was always there on old records.

I once downloaded a sampled 30 MB rhodes for my kurzweil
that one sounds a 100 times better. Via vast i manipulated it to get the same sound as the rhodes on old stevie wonder records and some of the jazz stuf of herbie hancock and the legendary la woman record from the doors.

anyway ... not bad ... but you better buy a good sampled rhodes for giga sampler or battery or whatever sampler you use if that will cost you 99$ as well

Regards and good luck to all
Tau [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 15th April 2002
Version reviewed: dunno on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I used to own a roland 101 once
this thing comes very close
simple and easy to use

I give it a big 10

and since it is a free plugin .... don`t be to critical on this one people

Regards


ZR-1 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 11th April 2002
Version reviewed: latest on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
** User Interface, easy to use? Can it be confusing?

life itself is confusing ... this thing lightens up my burdons

** What does it sound like?

It sounds like a drawbar organ :-)

** does it offer more than you'd expect?

I expected a drawbar organ

** does it even have a manual?

Dunno ... didn`t need one

** Does it come with presets? How many? Any good?

Yup ... all good

if you are a poor basterd like me use this one ...
if you have enough money ..use the NI B4
poor basterds will make better music anyway (with any sound) because they are not spoiled and they know making good music is doing hard work.

ALL Hail the affordable and free plugins makers !!!