Tips on Getting a Great Bass Sound Using Samples

Official support for: orangetreesamples.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi Greg (and anyone else who can provide helpful advice),

You already know I think Cherry Bass sounds awesome. And I love the sound of the demos. One demo in particular that I love is "Demo 3" for Cherry Bass Picked (that was the demo I listened to and said, I need to get this library). However, I'm no expert at mixing (I'm just an old drummer with no engineering skills) and was wondering if you could provide some simple tips on how to get a great bass sound and different effects/amps sims that can be useful. Are there some simple tips you could provide about eq'ing bass and using effects?

Do you recommend using a bass amp sim? I recall in an earlier thread that you stated you merely used EQ on some of the Cherry Bass on one of the demos I really liked. But I don't have a clue what to do. Are there any simple pointers you could provide?

I write melodic rock music. I love the bass tones on all of those old Beatles albums, Jon Brion (which just imitates the Beatles stuff), Snow Patrol, Coldplay, Ben Folds Five -- somewhere along those lines. I would also like to simulate the distorted bass sound that was often used in Ben Fold Five Songs, such as "Song for the Dumped" (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URz1qJ3aC4M).

Anyhow, I'm guessing that the answer is not as easy as a few tips in a simple post, but I'd be quite happy if you could point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
eDrummist
Last edited by eDrummist on Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

First of all, it's very important to get a good mix between the bass and the drums. Make sure that the kick drum and the bass don't interfere, otherwise use EQ to create space for both instruments to coexist. Making a wide but subtle cut around the 100hz range in the bass can help.