Moog Ladder filter simulation in LTSpice

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Yesterday evening, more for fun than anything else, I tried simulating a Moog Ladder filter in LTSpice. The reference schematic I used is: http://www.experimentalistsanonymous.co ... CF%202.gif
I thought this would be an interesting test since LTSpice allows WAV files input.
Sadly, although I get an output from the filter, it doesn't seem to be filtered much. Also, although R8 (which controls feedback amount) is set to 1 Ohm, I don't get much resonance.
I'm new to LTSpice, I practically never used it before, so if anybody more familiar with LTSpice could tell me what's wrong, I'd be thankful.. Note that for most transistors I used generic PNPs/NPNs, since I couldn't find the TIS97 used in the original Moog ladder filter schematic which I used for reference.

For the simulation, unzip saw.wav into c:\samples
Capture.PNG
moog.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Here:

http://xhip.net/temp/other/moog.net

Adding the circuit for the exponential current source while interesting is completely a waste of time.

A nice neat net is more useful than a schematic a lot of the time although I'm sure some would appreciate having the schematic to select nets to probe visually.

You should find once you get the net operating correctly that spice is not accurate enough to provide realistic performance from audio-frequency circuits. Unfortunately you'll probably realize this on your own over time, but I can assure you that you are wasting your time if you are not motivated to do this because you are working with the same electronic circuits on a bench.
Free plug-ins for Windows, MacOS and Linux. Xhip Synthesizer v8.0 and Xhip Effects Bundle v6.7.
The coder's credo: We believe our work is neither clever nor difficult; it is done because we thought it would be easy.
Work less; get more done.