A Guide to switching to Linux as your music production OS (If you really want to!)

Configure and optimize you computer for Audio.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Thinking about switching to linux?

Here is something that may come in Handy. I switched to linux from windows an almost 18 months ago and I've never looked back. My reason for switching is a combination of many things. Firstly, i hate that microsoft telemetry collects your data without most of its userbase knowing it. Most people who know it hate it, but most are not willing to switch out because of thier software not working on other platform. In my case, i am also a data scientist, who mainly works with python and the tools i use are way faster and convinient than on windows. This along with Windows Updates eating up my disk space finally convinced me to switch. At this point, i'd like to mention that i've been dual booting Linux and i have used linux since 2011.

Things to keep in mind

1. Not all of your software and plugins works on linux

2. You might have a hard time choosing the distro you want to use.

3. Although most people do not mention this, but 90% of windows plugins work on linux via wine

4. There are some big plugin companies like U-he who offer native linux plugins

5. Your DAW might not work on Linux, which might be a deal breaker.

6. Terminal is your best friend, however you can do 99% of the task in GUI, Terminal is way faster once you know how to use it.

Choosing a distro

Most people have a hard time choosing what distro to use. The answer is very simple in my opinion - Use Ubuntu. Almost all companies and software that support Linux support Ubuntu and you'll get the best online support for any distro with ubuntu. You can use any ubuntu based distros like Linux Mint, elementaryOS, pop!OS as well. You can use ubuntu studio if you want most of the audio stuff preinstalled.