Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Pedalboard 2 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By edmanicom [read all by] on 5th December 2018
Version reviewed: 2.14 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This application works seamlessly as a real time VST Host. You can even save your setups as presets... which is why I wonder why the developer hasn't completed the work by including a VST plugin, for use in one's DAW, with access to the same effects chains one uses in real time, and outside the DAW. Even without the desirous features, this gets a five star rating from me.
Nialls Pedal Board [read all reviews]
Reviewed By edmanicom [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 2.14 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This application works seamlessly as a real time VST Host. You can even save your setups as presets... which is why I wonder why the developer hasn't completed the work by including a VST plugin, for use in one's DAW, with access to the same effects chains one uses in real time, and outside the DAW. Even without the desirous features, this gets a five star rating from me.
Synth1 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Eine Alte Oma [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 100000 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

i don't know how long i use this synth already... it's still my go-to synth when i want a fast and inspiring workflow that gets me into trance as well. whenever i install my daw on a new machine synth1 is one of the first 3rd party plugins i install.

Etherealwinds Harp II: Community Edition [read all reviews]
Reviewed By mixyguy2 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I admit for free I was surprised how nice of a sound this has. I wish it had more functionality like the ability to auto-create harp "rolls" (or whatever it's called. e.g the stereotypical thing they use on TV show flashbacks), but for free, I'm not complaining. Very well made.

FreakQ 305 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Jayfinn27 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

What? Another EQ plugin? Really? No. When I first demoed this, I didn't see anything special with it. But then... I noticed the Scale (from parallel to double effect of the EQ), the filter shape selector (clean or resonant), and the introduced harmonics with tweaking the five EQ bands. It's a great sounding, uniquely designed tool for shaping an instrument or an entire mix.

FB-3200 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By mixyguy2 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Like the FB3300, a really well-done synth. Great sounds, straightforward interface. Whether you're specifically looking for the 3200 sound or not, this is well worth checking out.

Multi Transient [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Jayfinn27 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1.7 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I can't recall any other plugin that does what this one does: Multiband transient design. Period. Maybe there is, but is it good as this one? Does it also have mutiband clipping? What's the price point?

It sounds great, it's useful and unusual.

XCTR [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Jayfinn27 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Can't afford Fab Filter's Saturn? No problem, get XCTR. It may not be as versatile, nor have the same saturation models, but as for multiband saturation it gets you fast where you want to go with your mix.

Put it on your mixbus or instrument busses to enhance the sum. Use it as an exciter in the master bus. Use it to shape a complex vocal.

Only gripe is it crashes your DAW whenever you press the presets button. But who needs presets with a plugin such as this?

Bulldozer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Jayfinn27 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

First off, there are a couple of Audio Assault plugins missing from here.

One of them is Dirt Machine, which is essentially a suite of overdrive/distortion/fuzz pedals (amazing value, from a classic boost to an OCD, with the likes of Big Muff, Texan Pride, Soul Food, and even an not-so-shabby acoustic sim).

The other is Emperor, which along Dominator and this here Bulldozer make for Audio Assault's collection of guitar rigs.

Guitar rigs because you actually get it all inside a plugin (except a noise gate/denoiser and rack effects). From 10 bread and butter stompboxes that you can place in front of the amp or in the fx loop, a 2-channel high gain amp, and a cab section with the staple cab choices (American, British, Japanese and German), four different microphones and a user interface to position them and distance them, or the choice to load your own inputs, these three amp rigs bring very different and useful tones to the table.

While the Emperor focuses more on punchy high-mids, Dominator is more of a mid-gain amp, and this Bulldozer goes for the low-mid presence (suposedly a recreation of a certain Diezel amp). And here is where it truly shines, maybe because of the type of frequency response this amp head is amazingly versatile in tone.

I don't do metal whatsoever, I strive for getting delicate textures and tone into the productions I'm involved in, moving towards a more post-rockish, shoegazey, slowcore kind of sound. I can get specific and unique tones out of this plugin, without having to immediately reach for an eq to slice high-mid frequencies and to low-pass above 10k, and this is saying quite a bit.

I'd say in my context, Emperor would be more for scorching leads, Dominator for discerning shredding and Bulldozer for more discrete cleaner presence, although it can do almost anything the other two do.

But hey, get them all, you won't go wrong.

I have only one gripe with these amps: tweaking the reverb stomp has crashed my DAW a few times. Would be great to include a VST loader in the stomp section for loading other plugins (such as Dirt Machine). Other than that, they're great.

Grind Machine II [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Jayfinn27 [read all by] on 4th December 2018
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows.
Last edited by Jayfinn27 on 4th December 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I don't do metal, or any genre that might need high gain amps. I have the first Grind Machine, and must admit I seldomly if ever use it. I have several amp sims (Revalver, Amplitube, Guitar Rig, all the free amps available right now, a Line 6 Pod XT, and a Yamaha DG Stomp, you get the picture).

This amp sim is nothing short of amazing. Yes it can get heavy and shreddy (it's a high gain amp suite after all), but it can also do more 'subtle' lead tones, crunchy rhythms, cleanish slightly driven tones, and with the expansions, Hidden Gems in particular, you can even play jazz and blues with it.

A slew of high gain amps, along with several cab options and the 'tight' button make Grind Machine II an essential, versatile production tool ideal to get if you're into guitar music.