Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 New

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Miroslav Philharmonik 2 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By cucio [read all by] on 16th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows.
Last edited by cucio on 16th November 2017.
3.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

What Mr. Sauli said, plus a good amount of noisy, poorly played or out of tune samples. Listening to some of those is just embarrassing.

Even at the upgrade price and 50% off ($150) it feels like having been duped; someone who did pay the full price must be hurting something awful. I cannot fathom why someone would ever pay $500 for MP2 when you can get something at least one order of magnitude better, like Hollywood Orchestra or Albion, in that price range.

Little Plate [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Seizurespalace [read all by] on 14th November 2017
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by Ben [KVR] on 15th November 2017.
9.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A little reverb with a big sound!

I'll keep this review simple, as the product itself isn't overly complicated.

First of all, get this plugin while it's free (until Nov 22 2017)! Soundtoys is known for making quality plugins, and they haven't let us down with this new little gem. As a quick aside, check out their student discounts, they're phenomenal. This product is ideal for vocals and drums, but can be used on anything really. Don't let the title "Little Plate" fool you, you can have up to infinity decay time for a HUGE sound. Here's a quick breakdown of the various parameters.

Decay - Set from 0.5 seconds to infinity. Sounds best when subtle in my opinion (especially on vocals), but can be used more extreme as a more artistic/creative effect. One big vintage looking knob is used for the decay time, and it's very smooth to help set the exact decay that you're aiming for.

Low Cut - Very useful as this reverb is quite warm. Don't forget that reverb isn't naturally very bass heavy, due to the loss of low frequencies once a sound has bounced off of a surface. That said, setting an appropriate amount of low cut to your verb will help it sit in a more natural sounding space. Set to taste.

Dry/Wet - you know the drill. Set this fully to wet and drop it into a return track, then dial in the amount of reverb you desire on specific channels.

Mod - When this switch is turned on the reverb tail will have more variances to provide a more natural sounding reverb. I would use this on more acoustic genres, and leave it off for a more digital/exact sound.

Presets - Categories are 'Basics, Drums, Vocals, Extreme, Default, and User'. I really like the 1 second warmup, and 2 second warmup vocal presets on lead vocals. Try dialing in just enough that you barely hear the effect. Don't forget to save your own user presets once you've tweaked the presets given to you.

I've recorded a walkthrough/tutorial video that will help show this unit when used on a vocal part. I have many more music production videos pending, so please subscribe to stay posted for more videos in the future! kfhkh *see link below*.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l13Aacizgp8

Learn more here: http://www.soundtoys.com/introducing-little-plate/

OTT [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Vospi [read all by] on 12th November 2017
Version reviewed: 1.2.0.1 on Windows
10.00
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Synopsis:

Xfer OTT is an awesome tool for getting any instrument/loop more modern.

OTT is a 3-band compressor that works both upwards and downwards (that is, pulls quite sound up and pushes loud down). It was born out of somewhat famous Ableton compressor preset, but here you can finetune your effect to get just the thing you want. It can be barely visible, but people mainly use it to really pronounce something. Put a low-passed synth with some kind of subtle hi-freqs details in it ... and be blown away by what exactly multiband processing can get you this fast — and yes, for free.

Downsides:
- latency of 2 samples (so no parallel processing without extra gimmicks employed)
- somewhat noticeable CPU hit.

In other regards and if cooked right, it's simply awesome.
Besides getting a job done, it's an extreme fun: feed rather detailed, high-quality, but not "pushed" source to it and watch it transform drastically, in a good way.

A great sculpting utility that can become a to-go tool for modern music producers.
Absolutely recommended.

Kush Lab - Heat Up 2 Expansion [read all reviews]
Reviewed By zfay [read all by] on 12th November 2017
Version reviewed: 10 on Windows
5.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Gracias por el producto para descargar, espero que sea bueno muchas gracias de nuevo y espero que suba de nuevo mas contenido como este.

OrilRiver [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ign [read all by] on 11th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2.03beta on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

One of my favourite reverbs. Lots of versatility. I think the diffusion could still do with more emphasis between low and high settings.

VirtualCZ [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Spitfire31 [read all by] on 10th November 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Mac.
Last edited by Spitfire31 on 10th November 2017.
4.00
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The VirtualCZ rates high among the software synths I really regret that I bought. I understand that it is a sonically accurate emulation of the original h/w and so, I guess that my disappointment should be equally directed at Casio.

I find the sound more dated and wimpy than virtually any softsynth that I own (a license for). The envelopes appear so soft that it seems virtually (!) impossible to get any 'snap' out of the VCZ and ballsy it's certainly not. I wonder what kind of music people use it for? Chorused pads?

For myself, I find that I need a whole chain of fx after the VCZ in order to mangle the basic sound into anything remotely interesting, although the lack of snap is difficult to compensate for. Comparing it with a roughly contemporary synth, the DX7, is like night and day – the old Yama is certainly snappy where I find the Casio spongy and soft.

Obviously not my sort of machine, but hey! – who am I to discuss taste? No doubt the VCZ serves the musical interests of a number of people – it's just that I can't quite identify myself with those interests.

/Joachim.

Blue Cat's PatchWork [read all reviews]
Reviewed By mindbeet [read all by] on 9th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Mac
10.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've had this baby for a long time. I've used it as a wrapper in Protools, Logic and Bitwig and lately as a Standalone VST host on my second PC and in live situations. It's the kind of tool that you at first wish you didn't need, that works in the background and that you just set and forget. All these different plugin standards are really annoying and even if this is a solution It's hard to get very excited about it, until now.

The latest version 2.1 is fantastic. Built in effects, metering, undo/redo, M/S, PatchWork within PatchWork!!, scaleable GUI to 200%, lockable GUI and settings between presets. Add to that full MIDI control and that everything, even window states and positions are saved within presets and you've got a winner. The new preset handling especially is what makes this update so exciting.

This has grown into a full fledged creative tool and the core of my setup. Working with several DAWs I can now set it up as a channel strip and move freely between DAWs like never before. It loads every plugin format on Mac and PC, can be loaded as every format and works as Standalone.

From being a bridge between plugin formats Blue Cat has improved on this concept and taken it beyond what I thought it could be. It's stable, easy on the CPU, easy to use and even though it's not perfect I have to give it a 10 just to let you know how incredibly useful it is. There is nothing quite like it at the moment, highly recommended.

808 Bass Module 2 Lite [read all reviews]
Reviewed By RawGreen [read all by] on 9th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2.? on Windows
7.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Easy to use and understand, features work as advertised. I gave this VST 5 hours of testing and here's my conclusion.

The 808 samples sound great in the lower frequencies, everything's in tune and ready to go.
Using the VST is exactly what one would expect, it does exactly what it says it will do and I think it for the most part delivers on the quality it claims.
The way I'm familiar with how to use the 808 bass it to layer it into your drums with a kick layer playing on top of it, and one of the interesting things is using a little bit of the attack knob I can create a pseudo side-chain effect, allowing me to better layer my drums with the 808.

The LFO settings haven't had much use.
One could link the LFO to Expression with the maximum Depth and Rate, and it creates almost a modulation/octave type effect.
The other thing that could be interesting is linking the LFO to pitch and doing something with the Square LFO waveform.

The VST only plays one note at a time so you don't have to worry about notes overlapping and clashing.

The only restriction for the LITE version is 10 presets vs 170 presets if you buy the full version.
One can really just sit down and get to know the software without any fade-outs, time-limits, or nag messages.
I feel this serves as a great demo for the full version, kudos to the developer.

The one and ONLY Issue I found is when the release knob is turned down to 0% there's a click sound when the sound ends. You can work around this by turning it up to 1% or so and the tail of the release sound is so short at that point anyways that it shouldn't be a problem.

Moving on to Limitations.
1. As stated in the description, this VST is a rompler. In short, all the presets are different samples and any internal editing is limited to the effects provided to you within the VST. Which honestly is no big deal considering the general simplicity of 808 sounds and the modern technology of the DAW.

2. All knobs are static and cannot be automated. They're not linked up to any MIDI CC #'s from what I could find.
(Personally I would have loved to be able to automate the Glide and LFO values.)

3. Keyboard range is limited between C3 and C8 (5 octaves).
Which is already much more than enough, but it's still a limit of sorts, so I'm including it anyways.

Unintended Feature.
If you are familiar with MIDI CC, port #91 is active and lets you control Reverb Depth (not that you would actually want reverb on your bass).
But you could use it to turn this VST into some pretty boss tom-tom drums.

I most recommend this VST if you are using a DAW with limited instrument modification capabilities or want the convenience of having a variety of tuned 808 samples, ready to go, whenever you may need them.

MuLab [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Protocol_b [read all by] on 7th November 2017
Version reviewed: 7 on Mac
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Absolutely top notch - specifically for MIDI management. Route anything to anything. I've tried every live host on Mac out there that I can find - they ALL had issues. I am heavily into arpeggiators & step seq's. NORA and NUMEROLOGY both have complex GUI's involving tabs and resizeable pages. I did not find a single live host that could successfully present those to me until I tried MULAB (except MainStage - but MIDI routing virtually non-existent). Like they say, everything just works, no surprises except happy amazement. Completely intuituitive - you can go a long ways before you need to crack a manual. AND it comes with MIDI tools that are essential for complex routing, such as a MIDI monitor. With Ableton they won't even give you that until you buy the most expensive edition - they sell you a carpentry kit and then withhold the hammer. And speaking of step-seq's, the one in MULAB is a monster.

This dev has mad coding skills and deep insight on what is necessary, what should be simple, and how to make it rock solid. Making it available as a VST on MAC changes Everything - MULAB inside LIVE is better than sex. OK, well, better than coffee.

MuLab [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Ramlee [read all by] on 7th November 2017
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
9.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

In the world of free sequencer/DAW platforms, there are many contenders and just as many pretenders. MULAB stands out as a platform that delivers and then some. Exceptionally light on system resources and yet lacking nothing in terms of essential functionality, MULAB has become my new best friend; well....new best composition platform. Believe me when I say, "I tried them all..". LMMS looked promising but baffled me with its less than intuitive external keyboard routing which seemed to trigger all channels simultaneously; even after assigning separate MIDI channels to every track! Sequitur was equally alluring with its sexy interface and stripped down simplicity but again external keyboard frustration seemed built into the system. MULAB just worked straight away and the learning curve was refreshingly quick...everything made sense. Moreover, MULAB shipped with a bunch of synths and effects that weren't Casio rejects; no...there was real quality and depth to the instruments - the Hammond B3 was simply gorgeous. Suffice to say that if MULAB doesn't get your juices flowing then nothing in the GPL DAW menagerie will do it for you. The best free composition platform currently available and did I mention that it can be installed on a thumb drive so you can jack your studio into any available hardware...brilliant. (9 out of 10 only because I anticipate that it's just gonna get better)