Login / Register  0 items | $0.00 NewWhat is KVR? Submit News Advertise

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Oxe FM Synth [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Zipede [read all by] on 24th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.3.5 on Windows
9.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I like this synth a lot. I use dexed fairly often too, but Oxe FM Synth is well worth having, it's pianos, EPs and chimes have a really sweet character. I haven't figured out how to edit my own patches yet, I have to rely on lots of twiddleing and luck, but this is the same for all the FM synths I have, I really should watch a few tutorials.

The GUI is a bit smaller than I'd prefer, and it feels cluttered, but some of the alternate skins address that.

Overall I consider this a must have vst, and I'm quite picky.

Thanks to Oxe Software for making this free and 64-bit.

Temper [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Russell Grand [read all by] on 24th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Russell Grand on 24th September 2017.
9.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Temper is a fantastic phase distortion plugin from Creative Intent. At first glance, it may seem pretty limited due to having only a small amount of controls, but with the filter section and the saturation and curve knobs, one can get a lot of great sounds out of this thing. Whether beefing up a bassline or adding some spice to a drum track, Temper is a good tool for the job. I especially love what it can do for basses and hi-hats! The filters themselves are excellent, with the ability to get some nice squelchy distortions. Watch your speakers.

The GUI may be too dark for some, but personally I love it. I mainly use FL Studio so I'm used to and prefer dark color schemes. The controls themselves are solid and fluid, and the fiery display is a nice touch.

As far as customer service, Nick is personable and active here on KVR. I sent him a private message and he replied later that day.

Temper is available in VST, VST3, and AU, and at $10 is an absolute steal. Temper gets a solid 9/10 from me.

LFOTool [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ilikesongs [read all by] on 22nd September 2017
Version reviewed: v1.695 on Mac
10.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Excellent plugin! Simple but powerful, extremely versatile, and makes it fast to get the pattern you're looking for and help something sink into the groove. They say you should spend money on good tools and this is an excellent utility for a lot of applications. I can't recommend it highly enough, it's one of my bread and butter plugins.

Plus, Xfer customer support is top notch. I used the contact form on their website to ask about an issue I was having and they replied (and solved my problem) in less than 5 minutes.

Great plugin, great company.

Tarot [read all reviews]
Reviewed By matteogk [read all by] on 19th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Any OS
10.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Not another usual soundset, but a true wishing well. A great soundset, for many genres. Unexpected from an EDM synth, yet perfect for EDM too. My compliments to Alexander Hacke (and U-He that so kindly made it available for free).

Hive [read all reviews]
Reviewed By matteogk [read all by] on 19th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
10.00
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Simple, very effective, I'm using it a lot. Sounds amazing!.

What is best than "I design it in Hive, so I immediately get the sound I want"?

Combo Model V [read all reviews]
Reviewed By gxulien [read all by] on 19th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.3.3 on Windows
9.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Martinic Combo V and Combo F organs are great stripped down VST plugins. Nice sound and controllable vibrato. No myriads of syth controls described by nerdy words to scare your non-synth friends. You want organ, you got organ. Loads fast and uses very little cpu. Use your workstation to add effects. Why bother with reverb and equalizers in the VST when you have all that in your DAW? I use this for composing, instead of a piano plugin. Great for retro 60s tracks. NEVER locked up or crashed on me.

The Mangle [read all reviews]
Reviewed By aerodrink [read all by] on 15th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by aerodrink on 15th September 2017.
10.00
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Amazing piece of software. I bought it 3 years ago, and I still find the audio results stunning and musical. Every detail has been very well thought of; congrats to Tom Maisley he's been doing a fantastic job on this one.

Rehearse VST [read all reviews]
Reviewed By plethoraguy [read all by] on 14th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.15 on Windows
10.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great little tool for my Receptor. I trigger loops for live shows with it. very simple to use.

FMHeaven [read all reviews]
Reviewed By ballacr75 [read all by] on 12th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows
10.00
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is really a wonderful fm instruments, only miss more audio outputs! With 16 waveform for each oscillator, a 6x6 fm modulation matrix, two filters with hi and low pass mode, morph section for create morphing sound with a move of wheel or aftertouch, 16 channel multitrack, 4 audio out, 32x12 patch, import dx7 syx bank, 6x amplitude envelope with keytrack, 6x frequency envelope with keytrack, 2x filter envelope with keytrack, MIDI learn... a wonderful fm synth!!.

Absynth [read all reviews]
Reviewed By LasBas [read all by] on 9th September 2017
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows.
Last edited by LasBas on 9th September 2017.
10.00
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

One of the best for soundscapes and atmosphere sounds! I always find a sound that suits me in the large banks.