Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
SynthMaster Player for iOS [read all reviews]
Reviewed By BassThrillers [read all by] on 21st October 2018
Version reviewed: 2.9 on iOS
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Its great (when you get it working) I"m Having troubles re-installing it!! Ableton kind find it, in its designated folder by synth master and showing errors so redownloading. When I did have this VST running I remember it being great and huge selection of sounds. Were Sylenth1 fans, but when this came along its a mean rival to it. - Possibly better. I dunno we just package just the 1up from standard.around $129.

bona use this in future productions, they are 2 professional products.

KeroVee [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Eine Alte Oma [read all by] on 20th October 2018
Version reviewed: idk on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

for a free effect this is a must-have. it corrects pitch even better than the "real" autotune, the only downside is that it theirfore distorts the sample quite a lot, but if you go for a robotic voice anyway it doesn't matter, does it? i especially love how easy it is to get to new, wide and unique voices with the formant knobs, transposing and panning. singing with this plugin feels like a bob ross painting. the ultra hard pitchshifting is also useful if you wanna make your voice sound like an eguitar. just use this plugin on its maxed out settings and put any huge guitar amp VST behind it and you feel like a skillful guitar solo.

Kairatune [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Synthesis [read all by] on 19th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.2.5 on Windows.
Last edited by Synthesis on 19th October 2018.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I legitimately don't know why this only has four stars. Thanks to options like trill and delay, this is pretty much the ultimate ambient plugin. You can make warm pads, epic leads, and amazing FX. Also, once you get the hang of it, you can even start using it to make dubstep wobbles and growls. I'm shocked it's free; this could easily go for $30+.

Another amazing part of this is the interface. This plugin not only sounds amazing, it looks amazing. Working with this plugin is so, so much fun, and if you produce any kind of electronic music, this plugin is a must-have.

Emissary [read all reviews]
Reviewed By lajosuti [read all by] on 19th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I find it unbelievable that in 2018 this is still one of the best amp simulators. I have so many issues with the artificial high tones of the other sims that I mostly use the Emissary with some good Demon/V30 IRs. I use a standard TS boost and I set the lead gain on Emissary between 2-3.

ProF.E.T. [read all reviews]
Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on 16th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Pro FET by Ignite Amps.

Distortion modeling of a hardware pedal made by Ignite.

ProFET, Ignite Amp's entry in the 2018 KVR Developer Challenge, gets a six-minute Digital Guitarist workout. It was the first place winner in the contest.

Drop it in front of a clean guitar amp for instant metal tones.

Professional GUI.

Easy on the CPU.

Nice sounding distortion made for a particular genre's tone.

Within that limited frame, ProFET provides nice tone shaping with a 4-band EQ and some nuance on the transients with the "shape" switch.

There are a ton of different free and paid distortions, each with its own personality. I'll do some more vids on them probably. Try out the demos and freebies and pick the one that suits your ears best. This is a good one if it fits your style.

https://youtu.be/aLZsY7F1YYI

Equator [read all reviews]
Reviewed By BONES [read all by] on 16th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.11.2 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I bought a Roli Seaboard Rise about a year ago and it comes with Equator. Obviously it is designed to work with Roli's "5 Dimensions of Touch", which is achieved via MPE, which more hosts are supporting all the time. But don't think that means you have to have an MPE controller to use it because the VSTi works great with or without MPE.

What you get is a six oscillator synth with two multi-mode filters and more modulation options than you'll know what to do with. There are two sample-based oscillators, a noise oscillator and three V/A oscillators with around 50 different waveforms to choose from. The way it works reminds me a bit of Junglist/Hydra for those who can remember those instruments - you get a big, long list of drawn waveforms. The V/A oscillators can be used for FM, with four different algorithms on offer. Overall, it offers an incredibly broad range of options. You get a few samples when you install the instrument and there are more to download. The minimum size of the download is about 760MB and expansion pack adds another 1.2GB or so, which means you are getting a good range of high quality samples to work with.

Both filters are the same, with 13 different types available, covering all the usuals plus a comb filter and a few variations. The filters are OK, they get the job done, without really standing out.

Modulation is a stand-out feature. There are two LFO and five envelopes. The envelopes have four different modes - ADSR, ADR, ADADR and ADA-PR and, along with the LFO, can be synced to host tempo. The LFO have seven different waveforms to choose from. Beyond these features are the five dimensions of touch - STRIKE, PRESS, GLIDE, SLIDE and LIFT. You can set a response curve for each to match your playing style, giving you very fine control over how the instrument responds.

The way you add modulation is really simple - select a source, which is highlighted with an amber border, then go to the parameter you want to modlulate and adjust it's controls. The selected range will highlight in amber (normal settings are shown in blue). Once the modulation is set, the control for that parameter will animate so you can see it working. e.g. If you modulate the cutoff for Filter 1 with Envelope 2, every time you play a note, you will see the cutoff knob jump up and slide back, according to the shape of the envelope. It makes it so easy to see what's going, it is one of the most effective modulation schemes I have ever used. There is also a hidden tab with a "modulation list", which is just like the Mod Matric in many other synths.

The effects section is very good - high quality, great sounding and easy to use. There is a tab for routing everything so it's a breeze to set up complex signal paths to take full advantage of the effects. It's also where you can turn the overall volume of a patch up/down. The final tab is for global settings.

It's not perfect, though, The windows where you adjust the envelopes are far too small, making it hard to get precise values. At least you can zoom the 5D response curve windows (another tab). To be honest, I'd have preferred just two or three envelopes with bigger windows. CPU use is more than reasonable for what's on offer - 3% to 6% for a single voice on my Core i5 2-in-1 and 6-11% for a three note chord.

Overall, Roli have put a lot of effort into making Equator extremely powerful, yet easy to use in a way many other developers struggle to deliver. Almost everything is visible on the front panel, which can be resized by grabbing the bottom-right corner and pulling (it only gets bigger) and those things that are hidden behind tabs are all things you hardly ever need to see. The sound quality is stellar and using it as it is meant to be used, with a Seaboard controller, makes for an expressive experience out of the box that's pretty much unbeatable. But if you want to buy it as a standalone product, you won't get the full experience, which makes it's asking price very steep. If you ever see it for $99, grab it, otherwise think carefully before making a decision.

ReFine [read all reviews]
Reviewed By sokoleski [read all by] on 15th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Mac.
Last edited by sokoleski on 15th October 2018.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I usually put this on a send, and bleed in different elements here and there, Gives nice subtil warm and width. I quite like this one, find to be unique in sound and very addictive. A real gem.

LoudMax [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 13th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.22 on Mac
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great free plguin. Compact and easy to use it does its job very well. It does not colour the sound and there's no distortion at all.

I've compared to the Waves L2 ultramaximizer and I can't see any difference.

Highly suggested.

Syncla-X [Large Version] [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.13 on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Some sounds are cool, some other are nothing special. I've found some noise in too many presets.

unfortunately, with Logic Pro X 10.4.2 + High Sierra it crashes every time you change presets.

hope it can be fixed.

Sounds Of Life [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Crinoceronte [read all by] on 12th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Any OS
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This library sounds really great, it can be used in so many ways. The fact that the samples are true to their origin and unfiltered gives the chance to manipulate them the way you want to, something you can't easily find nowadays with this quality.