Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

Product Reviews by KVR Members

The latest reviews by all KVR members!

Review Something
or Find Reviews
VirtualKeyboard [read all reviews]
Reviewed By fuchs777 [read all by] on 27th May 2018
Version reviewed: latest on Mac.
Last edited by fuchs777 on 27th May 2018.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Took me a while to find a multicoloured keyboard as VST. I do piano tutorials, so this is a great help.

Had a problem on the Mac with CPU with plugin.

Support reacted fast and sorted the problem out in 2 days with instructive e-mail dialogue.

Now Im ready to work again.

Thanks a lot.

Christian from Berlin.

MSpectralDelay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Robert Kanaan [read all by] on 24th May 2018
Version reviewed: 12 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hello, I must say, the rating of ONE STAR pushed me to write a comment with some opinions. Actually I am a fan of good delay effects - got Echoboy, Unfiltered Audio Sandman Pro, PSP Stomp Delay, some Valhalla stuff etc - so one might say, what get another delay for? But obviously free intro offer encouraged me to install this exceptional plugin. Maybe this was a good idea to promote other commercial plugins, because compared to free Melda plugins, this one shines. I must say, I use a lot free Melda plugins (perfect stability, very usefull functions), but no one complains with free stuff, does one? Anyway, this is like space rocket against bicycle.. I love deep manipulation options, love tweeking possibilities, graphical response. Very usefull chain shines.. I love the clarity of eq-ing, The control I have over all the parameter is fantastic, intuitive, encouraging for creativity. The presets offer so different potential, that it absolutely deserves 5*. The sound obviously unquestionable. Perhaps this is not my ne go-to delay, I got accustomed with other plugs, but certainly there will be situations, where MSpectralDelay will be the obvious first choice delay. That's a 5 star plugin! Thank You Melda for the opportunity to get it free with all the benefits of professional series.

Best, Robert.

MSpectralDelay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By SparkySpark [read all by] on 23rd May 2018
Version reviewed: 12 on Windows
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is the first plugin I review in years. I just felt the need to do that since it is, in my mind, such an awesome and uniquely creative product.

I am obviusly very impressed. Here are my findings:

Sound: it sounds great of course, but on top of that, it sounds so musical. I created a video (https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=138&t=505273&p=7084899#p7084899) in which one can here how well it treats a drum loop. No muddyness or harshness - it just does cool stuff whatever preset I throw at the loop, somehow separating the bass drum from the hihats and share, for instance.

UI: this is perhaps the best Melda UI I have seen. It is very clearly laid out and the graphics are super cool (think FabFilter Pro-R). It's really easy to make the plugin "your own", since it really screams at you that it wants to be experimented upon.

Versatility: is this plugin useful? Well I think that it can be used very creatively but also as a more normal delay effect, to add some surprising elements to a specific sound.

All in all, this is, to me, a clear winner and absolutely worth checking out.

MSpectralDelay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By RobinWood [read all by] on 23rd May 2018
Version reviewed: 12 on Windows.
Last edited by RobinWood on 23rd May 2018.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This was the first plugin from Meldaproduction I'm actually interested in. Their other free stuff is pretty basic "bread and butter" stuff but this seemed special.

Unfortunately MSpectralDelay is a real CPU hog. The bigger the fft size the more CPU it uses. I then experienced it needs higher fft sizes to sound good. Using some modulators in addition will result in even more CPU usage. I bet the latter can be optimized by ourself if you're into their system. I tried to dig deeper but after opening the manual I instantly closed it again.
NI Spektral Delay (which was obviously the inspiration for this plugin) was not that hungry when using similar basic settings. Another difference is the smearing of transient material. This is more prominent in the melda plugin.

Some things other users experienced as well: randomizing settings blew up my speakers, audible distortion and artefacts in the higher frequency range "like mp3 codec noise". Downloading a big installer that copies many more files and presets than needed and AV warning aren't a good thing either.
Someone wrote it runs out of sync but I couldn't reproduce this in real use scenarios. Registering at their website to get the free license is something I can understand.

A downside of the plugin is the ui and workflow (sorry I just can't get used to it, it doesn't make fun opening them) and their exaggerated marketing phrases.

IMO the problems are not acceptable from someone who "reinvented" the delay. It will not replace anything in my setup and it is not usable in production. I might use it offline for soundscapes or so. I'm sure there are users loving it, especially melda customers who are used to it. It is free but please understand that doesn't mean we can't criticize it.

MSpectralDelay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By connmach [read all by] on 23rd May 2018
Version reviewed: 12.01 on Windows
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

A very good sounding creative machine, with a beautiful GUI which parts with the "As a company we decide what you want"-doctrine disguised with those cheap clich├ęs in wrong contexts as "less is more". The GUI lets the user who knows what she/he wants do what is more in his or her context.

MSpectralDelay excels big time in creativity and sound.

TDR Nova [read all reviews]
Reviewed By colobelporridge [read all by] on 20th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This legendary dynamic eq is world class, Tokyo Dawn is one of the best developers out there as most of you know.

Protoverb [read all reviews]
Reviewed By colobelporridge [read all by] on 20th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

great reverb. particularly good for reverbs that you want to sound close to the ear. Its hard to fault other than a few more controls would be nice but that might go against the idea of the whole piece.

Krush [read all reviews]
Reviewed By colobelporridge [read all by] on 20th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

An absolute beast, easy to use gui and every flavour of crush under the sun. My favorite bit crusher since mda degrade.

Midside Matrix [read all reviews]
Reviewed By colobelporridge [read all by] on 20th May 2018
Version reviewed: 3.0.9 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Simple and user friendly, great developer. Lovely Valhalla esque gui and clear metering. A well thought out plugin. I use it all the time.

Frontier [read all reviews]
Reviewed By colobelporridge [read all by] on 20th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This sounds really great, hard to fault. But getting the plugin is a real hassle and the site is very cryptic. The only way i could get it was by having an account and also by gettiing a demo of another product but they dont really tell you this at all. I think they are missing out on customers because i have read of people on forums giving up on even getting this because they cant figure it out.